Vols accept bid to 2002 Peach Bowl

The Tennessee Volunteers (8-4) will face the 19th ranked Maryland Terrapins (10-3) in the 2002 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on New Year's Eve.

The University had the official announcement at a news conference in the Neyland-Thompson sports complex in Knoxville that was attended by Phillip Fulmer, Athletics Director Doug Dickey and Peach Bowl President Gary Stokan.

"If you would have said at the beginning of the year we could have Maryland and Tennessee, we would have jumped all over it,'' Stokan said. "We think we got the best team in the ACC in Maryland. And Tennessee lost to Miami and Georgia, two of the top three teams in the country.''

The Vols and Terrapins last met in the 1984 Sun Bowl, when the Terps pulled out a 28-27 victory in El Paso, Texas. Tennessee and the Terps also clashed the season before (1983) in the Florida Citrus Bowl, then held one week before Christmas. In that contest Tennessee's Johnnie Jones rushed for 154 yards on 29 attempts.

Tennessee football currently holds a 5-2 edge over the Maryland program in the series between the two. Tennessee won five straight dating from 1956 to the Citrus Bowl in '83.

Tennessee last played in the Peach Bowl following the 1987 season, when it defeated Indiana 27-22. The Vols also played in the Peach following the 1982 season, when they lost 28-22 to Iowa.

This will be the first time since the 1994 season that the Vols haven't played on Jan. 1 or later. The Peach Bowl kicks off at 6:30 p.m. on New Year's Eve from the Georgia Dome and will be televised by ESPN.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories