UT names permanent captains

Tennessee head coach Phillip Fulmer announced Friday the election of four seniors, one junior and one sophomore as permanent team captains for the remainder of the 2008 football season.

Seniors named were defensive end Robert Ayers, offensive tackle Ramon Foster, wide receiver Lucas Taylor and linebacker Ellix Wilson. Junior tailback Montario Hardesty and sophomore safety Eric Berry rounded out the group as voted on by the team.

"We have been having game captains this year and going back into last season, but it has become obvious who was emerging as leaders for this football team," Fulmer said after Friday's walk-through at Neyland Stadium. "I felt like it was a good time to do it.

"I relayed to the team how honored I was to have these six individuals as captains. I also told them that of all the things I have been through and been able to accomplish during my playing and coaching careers at Tennessee, nothing tops being named a captain or co-captain by your teammates."

The Vols host Mississippi State in a 7 p.m. Eastern time kickoff Saturday at Neyland Stadium.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories