Coaches All-SEC team announced

Tennessee's basketball team missed out on the major honors earlier today when the SEC coaches announced their annual individual awards.

Kentucky's Keith Bogans beat out UT's Ron Slay for Player of the Year recognition, and Florida's Anthony Roberson beat out UT's C.J. Watson for Freshman of the Year honors. As expected, UK's Tubby Smith was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Still, UT wasn't exactly snubbed. Slay was a first-team All-SEC selection, and Watson was a first-team All-Freshman selection.

Joining Slay and Bogans on the five-man All-SEC first team were Florida's Matt Bonner, Georgia's Jarvis Hayes and Mississippi State's Mario Austin.

The six-man second team consists of Alabama's Erwin Dudley, LSU's Ronald Dupree, Auburn's Marquis Daniels, Georgia's Ezra Williams, Kentucky's Marquis Daniels and Vanderbilt's Matt Frieje.

Interestingly enough, the smallest players among the 10 All-SEC honorees are Georgia's Williams, a 6-4, 235-pounder, and Bogans, a 6-5, 213-pounder. All of the other nine selections stand at least 6-7 and all but Georgia's Hayes play forward or center.

The All-Freshman team, in addition to Watson and Roberson, consists of Florida's Matt Walsh, Alabama's Kennedy Winston and Arkansas's Jonathon Modica. Watson, Roberson and Walsh were unanimous selections.

Whereas the Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year selections were a little surprising, the Coach of the Year balloting was not. Smith led the Wildcats to their 42nd SEC Championship and the first perfect season in conference play since Kentucky's 1996 National Championship season.

Kentucky enters the SEC Tournament as the top seed in the East for the sixth time since 1992. He is the first Kentucky coach to win the award since Rick Pitino won the award in 1996. Smith guided his squad to a league-best 26-3 record (16-0 in SEC play) and what will be their 12th straight NCAA Tournament appearance. In six seasons in Lexington, he has compiled a 158-46 (.775) record.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories