Two Ags on First Team All-SEC

Texas A&M returning All-Americans Johnny Manziel and Jake Matthews headline a large group of Aggies on the preseason All-Southeastern Conference team selected by Athlon Sports.

Texas A&M returning All-Americans Johnny Manziel and Jake Matthews headline a large group of Aggies on the preseason All-Southeastern Conference team selected by Athlon Sports.

Ten Aggies earned spots on the prestigious squad with 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Manziel taking first-team quarterback honors and 2012 Football Writers Association All-America Matthews being named first-team offensive tackle. Only defending national champion Alabama had more selections with 14.

With Manziel and Matthews leading the way, the Aggie offense became the first SEC team ever to gain more than 7,000 yards in a season, and led the conference in rushing, passing, scoring and total offense.

Making Athlon's second-team unit were sophomore wide receiver Mike Evans and junior cornerback Deshazor Everett. Evans ranked No. 3 in the SEC with 82 catches for 1,105 yards, and set Texas A&M freshman records in both categories. Everett made starts at cornerback and safety and thwarted a late Alabama rally with a goal line interception in the Aggies' 29-24 win over the top-ranked Crimson Tide.

A trio of Aggies were on the third-team offense with junior guard Jarvis Harrison, junior tackle Cedric Ogbuehi and senior running back Ben Malena making the cut. Sophomore running back Trey Williams was named to the third team as a kickoff return specialist, while linebacker Steven Jenkins and placekicker Taylor Bertolet were named to the fourth team.

Athlon Sports SEC Football 2013 All-Conference Team

First-Team Offense

QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB Todd Gurley, Georgia
RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
WR Amari Cooper, Alabama
WR Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
TE Arthur Lynch, Georgia
C Travis Swanson, Arkansas
OG Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
OG Anthony Steen, Alabama
OT Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama
OT Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

First-Team Defense

DE Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
DE Chris Smith, Arkansas
DT Dominique Easley, Florida
DT Anthony Johnson, LSU
LB Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama
CB Andre Hal, Vanderbilt
CB Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida
S Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama
S Craig Loston, LSU

First-Team Specialists

K Carey Spear, Vanderbilt
P Kyle Christy, Florida
KR Andre Debose, Florida
PR Marcus Murphy, Missouri

Second-Team Offense

QB A.J. McCarron, Alabama
RB Keith Marshall, Georgia
RB LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M
WR Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss
TE Rory Anderson, South Carolina
C James Stone, Tennessee
OG Chris Burnette, Georgia
OG Aaron Morris, Ole Miss
OT Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt
OT Antonio Richardson, Tennessee

Second-Team Defense

DE Bud Dupree, Kentucky
DE C.J. Johnson, Ole Miss
DT Byran Jones, Arkansas
DT Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina
LB Lamin Barrow, LSU
LB Adrian Hubbard, Alabama
LB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
CB Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M
CB Marcus Roberson, Florida
S Kenny Ladler, Vanderbilt
S Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State

Second-Team Specialists

K Cody Parkey, Auburn
P Steven Clark, Auburn
KR Marcus Murphy, Missouri
PR Jonathan Krause, Vanderbilt

Third-Team Offense

QB Aaron Murray, Georgia
RB Ben Malena, Texas A&M
RB Tre Mason, Auburn
WR Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
WR Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia
TE Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State
C Ryan Kelly, Alabama
OG Jon Halapio, Florida
OG Jarvis Harrison, Texas A&M
OT Ja'Waun James, Tennessee
OT Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M

Third-Team Defense

DE Denico Autry, Mississippi State
DE Walker May, Vanderbilt
DT Daniel McCullers, Tennessee
DT Donte Rumph, Kentucky
LB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State
LB Antonio Morrison, Florida
LB Avery Williamson, Kentucky
CB E.J. Gaines, Missouri
CB Damian Swann, Georgia
S Eric Bennett, Arkansas
S Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss

Third-Team Specialists

K Zach Hocker, Arkansas
P Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss
KR Trey Williams, Texas A&M
PR Odell Beckham Jr., LSU

Fourth-Team Offense

QB Connor Shaw, South Carolina
RB Jeremy Hill, LSU
RB Jeff Scott, Ole Miss
WR Dorial Green-Beckham, Missouri
WR Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
TE O.J. Howard, Alabama
C Jonotthan Harrison, Florida
OG A.J. Cann, South Carolina
OG Zach Fulton, Tennessee
OT La'El Collins, LSU
OT John Theus, Georgia

Fourth-Team Defense

DE Dee Ford, Auburn
DE Dante Fowler, Florida
DT Isaac Gross, Ole Miss
DT Brandon Ivory, Alabama
LB Trey DePriest, Alabama
LB Chase Garnham, Vanderbilt
LB Steven Jenkins, Texas A&M
CB Jalen Mills, LSU
CB Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss
S Demetruce McNeal, Auburn
S Jaylen Watkins, Florida

Fourth-Team Specialists

K Taylor Bertolet, Texas A&M
P Cody Mandell, Alabama
KR Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
PR Christion Jones, Alabama

Aggie Digest Top Stories