2015 Eligibility Pipeline: Linebackers

We now take a look at the linebacker personnel that will be returning next season.

BobcatIllustrated is taking a look at how the roster will look next season with scholarship players. We're breaking down our "2015 Eligibility Pipeline" and now look at the linebackers returning to Texas State's for the 2015 season.

**Listed year of eligibility is for 2015**

Linebackers (4)

Trey McGowan Sr.
Darnell Dailey Sr.
Jerrid Jeter-Gilmon Sr.
Stephen Smith Jr.

Returning Stat Leaders:
McGowan will be the leading returning tackler with 80 stops and 2 TFL's.
Jeter-Gilmon finished with 46 stops, 3.5 TFL's, 1.5 sacks.

Seniors Lost: David Mayo, Mike Orakpo, Andrew Hamilton

On either side of the ball next season, the biggest loss for Texas State is unanimous, David Mayo. The all everything linebacker will be tremendously missed, his 154 tackles, 3 FF's, and more importantly, his leadership and attitude for a defense that carried this team at multiple points in the 2014 season. It will be a daunting task, and somewhat unfair to even expect someone from this group to step in and fill his shoes without skipping a beat. Mike Orakpo not returning is also a blow to the defense. BI broke the news on Orakpo's decision not to file for a medical hardship last week and his departure only makes the proven talent void at linebacker that much bigger.

Current Commits (3):
Bo Anderson 6'2" 220
Bryan London 6'1" 215
Kerry Walker 6'3" 220

Anderson and London will have to add significant weight to man the middle, so it seems likely that they would get first crack on the outside. Walker could very well end up at defensive end, and that's why TXST is still searching for one more LB commit from the Juco ranks who can play the middle.

Talk about our "2015 Eligibility Pipeline" in the 'Cats Den Insider forum.

Bobcat Illustrated Top Stories