Doege Named to Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

Texas Tech senior quarterback Seth Doege lands on another preseason watch list.

For the second-straight season Texas Tech quarterback Seth Doege has landed on the Davey O'Brien Award preseason watch list.

The senior was a 2011 semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award, and is one of seven of the semifinalists to be returning this season.

Since 2008, Tech has had a quarterback make the preseason watch list every year, Graham Harrell (2008), Taylor Potts (2009 & 2010) and Doege (2011 & 2012).

Doege looks to become the first Tech quarterback to ever bring home the coveted award, and the fourth gunslinger in the last six seasons from the Big 12 Conference to win the award.

Along with Doege, the Big 12 landed four other quarterbacks on the list with Geno Smith, West Virginia, Collin Klein, Kansas State, Landry Jones, Oklahoma, and Casey Pachall, TCU, getting the nod from the Davey O'Brien Foundation.

Out of the group, Doege is the best quarterback, statistically, coming back in 2012, the Wolfforth native led the country in 2011 in passing yards with 4,004 yards and hitting the end zone 28 times and averaged 333.7 yards per game.

The 16 semifinalists will be announced on October 22, and the three finalists will be revealed on November 19.

The winner of the Davey O'Brien Award will be announced on December 6 on The Home Depot College Awards Show, which will be aired on ESPN.  

Inside the Red Raiders Top Stories