Mackey, Biletnikoff Awards for Amaro?

Texas Tech junior tight end Jace Amaro has been named as a semifinalist for both the John Mackey Award and the Biletnikoff Award, given to the best tight end and receiver, respectively, in the nation.

Junior tight end Jace Amaro has been named a semifinalist for the John Mackey Award (nation's top tight end) and the Biletnikoff Award (nation's top receiver), becoming the first student-athlete named to both semifinalist lists since Missouri's Chase Coffman in 2008.

Amaro, one of the most dynamic tight ends/receivers in the nation, is the first Red Raider in school history to be named a semifinalist for the Mackey Award and is the first Red Raider since Michael Crabtree (2008) to be honored by the Biletnikoff Award.

The San Antonio native has compiled 1,157 receiving yards on 92 catches and hauled in six touchdown catches. His 92 receptions rank second nationally and his 1,157 yards rank 12th. Last week against Baylor, Amaro caught two touchdown passes giving him his second multiple TD game of the year.

The eight semifinalists for the Mackey Award are: Jace Amaro (JR, Texas Tech), Ted Bolser (SR, Indiana), Eric Ebron (JR, North Carolina), Devin Funchess (SO, Michigan), Gator Hoskins (SR, Marshall), Troy Niklas (JR, Notre Dame), Nick O'Leary (JR, Florida State) and Austin Seferian-Jenkins (JR, Washington).

The 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award are: Davante Adams, (Soph., Fresno State), Jace Amaro (Jr., Texas Tech) Odell Beckham (Jr., LSU), Brandin Cooks (Jr., Oregon State), Mike Evans (So., Texas A&M), Antwan Goodley (Jr., Baylor), Jordan Matthews (Sr., Vanderbilt), Paul Richardson (Jr., Colorado), Allen Robinson (Jr., Penn State), Willie Snead (Jr., Ball State) and Sammy Watkins (Jr., Clemson).

Finalists for both awards will be announced on Monday, Nov. 25 and the winners at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12.

Inside the Red Raiders Top Stories