Texas Tech-Oklahoma State Series History

The Red Raiders and Cowboys will meet for the 42nd time 6:30 p.m. Thursday in Stillwater, Okla.

It’s been a miserable series of late for the Texas Tech faithful.

Oklahoma State has dominated Texas Tech since Mike Gundy took over as the lead man in Stillwater.

The Cowboys have scored five straight victories over the Red Raiders and have not lost to Tech at Boone-Pickens Stadium since 2001.

Contrary to what many current students may perceive, the Cowboys have not always been this dominant. In fact, Texas Tech leads the series. Prior to the five-game Cowboy win streak, Tech dominated the all-time series with a nine-game lead. Currently the Red Raiders hold a 21-17-3 series advantage.

Tech dominated early on against the school previously named Oklahoma A&M. The series starting in 1935 with Tech being unbeaten in the first five games, including four victories. Oklahoma A&M never scored more than six points in those five games and were shutout twice.

The tables would turn in the 1940s as Oklahoma A&M quickly knotted up the series with four consecutive victories including a 46-6 demolition of Tech in 1945.

Tech would have the last laugh for a while though as the Red Raiders scored revenge with a 14-7 victory in 1946. The series would not return again for five seasons. Tech went 2-1-2 in the five-year period starting in 1953. Oklahoma A&M would change its name to Oklahoma State in 1957 and the move brought some good fortune to the program as the final game in the stretch was the lone victory for the men from Stillwater.

For the next 30 seasons, the two teams would periodically play each other, but only for a total of five times with Texas Tech winning three of those games.

It’s hard to look past the Coca-Cola Bowl in 1988 though. Heisman Trophy winner Barry Sanders ran all over the Texas Tech defense. Sanders carried the ball 44 times racking up 332 yards. The future pro football hall of famer scored four touchdowns in the Tokyo Dome in Japan and the Cowboys needed every single one of them.

The series would not be renewed until the Southwest Conference dissolved and Texas Tech and Oklahoma State both joined the Big 12 Conference. The Red Raiders would dominate the series when it renewed. Tech won six of the first seven games and outscored the Cowboys 259-118.

The tables would start turning with a 2003 shootout. The Red Raiders and the Pokes combined for 100 points during a 51-49 Cowboys victory. Defense wouldn’t be used much during the series for a while. Oklahoma State head coach Les Miles bolted for LSU and former Cowboys quarterback Mike Gundy was promoted from offensive coordinator to take his place. With all the fireworks taking place on the field with the two high-powered offenses, it was only a matter of time before a few would be lit off the field. In one day, both head coaches would go on rants that play frequently to this day.

The head coach of Texas Tech at the time, Mike Leach, criticized his entire team for lack of effort and mental stability. He stated his offense reads their press clippings and dropped an f-bomb when talking about how the defense pouts when they get hit in the mouth, has their lunch money stolen and waits for someone else to wipe their tears away. During the press conference, he also foreshadowed the firing of defensive coordinator Lyle Setencich when he said he would get rid of whomever is not on board, whether it’s a player or coach.

Current East Carolina head coach Ruffin McNeill took over as defensive coordinator after the game.

Leach was not the only one who had an outburst though. In fact, Gundy’s press conference overshadowed Leach’s. One of the most famous press conference meltdowns of all-time took place after the 49-45 Oklahoma State victory. Gundy stepped up to the podium with a newspaper and called the reporter, editor and paper “garbage” after a story regarding the benching of Bobby Reid was published. Gundy won over the hearts of many with his “I’m a man. I’m 40.” speech. He called out the reporter, saying they must not have kids because they don’t know what it’s like to have a child come home crying after being bullied. What seemed like a coach defending his player, did not turn out to be the case. Reid, a four-star recruit who won a 5A Texas State championship at Galena Park North Shore, left Oklahoma State to return home to Houston where he would continue playing football at Texas Southern. Later on, ESPN The Magazine reported that Reid felt the outburst was fake and went into a depression before joining the Tigers.

The following season would be Texas Tech’s best season in program history. The Red Raiders were coming off what may be the program’s biggest victory to date, a 39-33 victory over No.1 Texas. Tech took the momentum from Michael Crabtree’s game-winning catch and used it to throttle a nationally ranked Oklahoma State squad 56-20. It is the last time Texas Tech won a game in the series.

Oklahoma State would go on to win five straight including a 66-6 victory in Lubbock in 2011. It was a game in which further divided a fan base who was still coping after the firing of Mike Leach by the university’s administration.

Although Kliff Kingsbury lost his first game against Oklahoma State, the scars seem to be sewn up. Tech is now a young team who has a bright future ahead of them despite the resignation of defensive coordinator Matt Wallerstedt. Like in 2007, it isn’t the first time Tech has changed coordinators during a season. It worked fairly well for Tech back then, and could help a struggling rush defense this time around.

The Red Raiders and Cowboys kick off 6:30 p.m. Thursday at Boone-Pickens Stadium in Stillwater, Oklahoma.

Nov. 2, 1935 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 14 Oklahoma A&M 0
Nov. 6, 1936 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 12 Oklahoma A&M 0
Oct. 30, 1937 in Stillwater: Texas Tech 14 Oklahoma A&M 6
Sept. 27, 1940 in Stillwater: Tied 6-6
Oct. 3, 1941 in Stillwater: Texas Tech 16 Oklahoma A&M 6
Oct. 10, 1942 in Lubbock: Oklahoma A&M 9 Texas Tech 6
Sept. 24, 1943 in Stillwater: Oklahoma A&M 21 Texas Tech 13
Oct. 7, 1944 in Lubbock: Oklahoma A&M 14 Texas Tech 7
Nov. 17, 1945 in Stillwater: Oklahoma A&M 46 Texas Tech 6
Oct. 3, 1953 in Stillwater: Texas Tech 27 Oklahoma A&M 13
Oct. 2, 1954 in Lubbock: Tied 13-13
Oct. 1, 1955 in Stillwater: Texas Tech 24 Oklahoma A&M 6
Nov. 3, 1956 in Lubbock: Tie 13-13
Nov. 2, 1957 in Stillwater: Oklahoma State 13 Texas Tech 0
Oct. 16, 1965 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 17 Oklahoma State 14
Nov. 5, 1966 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 10 Oklahoma State 7
Oct. 4, 1969 in Stillwater: Oklahoma State 17 Texas Tech 10
Oct. 5, 1974 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 14 Oklahoma State 13
Oct. 4, 1975 in Stillwater: Oklahoma State 17 Texas Tech 16
Dec. 4, 1988 in Tokyo, Japan: Oklahoma State 45 Texas Tech 42
Sept. 7, 1996 in Irving, Texas: Texas Tech 31 Oklahoma State 3
Nov. 15, 1997 in Stillwater: Texas Tech 27 Oklahoma State 3
Oct. 10, 1998 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 24 Oklahoma State 17
Oct. 9, 1999 in Stillwater: Oklahoma State 41 Texas Tech 21
Nov. 11, 2000 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 58 Oklahoma State 0
Nov. 10, 2001 in Stillwater: Texas Tech 49 Oklahoma State 30
Nov. 9, 2002 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 49 Oklahoma State 24
Oct. 18, 2003 in Stillwater: Oklahoma State 51 Texas Tech 49
Nov. 27, 2004 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 31 Oklahoma State 15
Nov. 12, 2005 in Stillwater: Oklahoma State 24 Texas Tech 17
Nov. 18, 2006 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 30 Oklahoma State 24
Sept. 22, 2007 in Stillwater: Oklahoma State 49 Texas Tech 45
Nov. 8, 2008 in Lubbock: Texas Tech 56 Oklahoma State 20
Nov. 14, 2009 in Stillwater: Oklahoma State 24 Texas Tech 17
Oct. 16, 2010 in Lubbock: Oklahoma State 34 Texas Tech 17
Nov. 12, 2011 in Lubbock: Oklahoma State 66 Texas Tech 6
Nov. 17, 2012 in Stillwater: Oklahoma State 59 Texas Tech 21
Nov. 2, 2013 in Lubbock: Oklahoma State 52 Texas Tech 34

Raider Power Top Stories