Academic Recognition Granted Four Lady Raiders

Four Texas Tech Lady Raiders were named to this year's all-conference academic team March 2.

For their second consecutive year, Erin Grant and Chesley Dabbs have been named to the All-Big 12 Academic Women's Basketball Team. Both are juniors. Dabbs, a 6'-0'' guard, is from Plano. Her major is in finance and general business. Classmate Grant, the Lady Raiders' 5'8'' starting point guard, is an Arlington native and majors in marketing and general business. She will graduate this May, having completed her degree in only three years.

Sophomores Brooke Baughman and Alesha Robertson also earned recognition as members of the team. Baughman, Dabbs, and Grant are among 32 members of the first-team squad; Robertson is one of nine members of the second team. Freshmen and transfers in their first year of academic residence are not eligible for the team. Robertson and Baughman earned the recognition in their first season of eligibility. Both are majoring in exercise sport science.

Robertson, a 6'0'' forward, is a graduate of Plainview High School, while Baughman, a 5'10'' guard currently serving as the backup point guard, is a Canyon High School graduate.

Twenty-one members of the team, including Dabbs and Grant, repeated earning the honor as part of this year's squad. Qualifications are a 3.00 or higher GPA, either cumulatively or in the two previous semesters, and participation in 60 percent of her team's scheduled contests. To be named to the first team, a player must maintain a 3.20 or better GPA, while a 3.00 to 3.19 is required for second-team recognition.

Directors of student-athlete services and media relations offices submit nominees from their institutions.

Fifteen of the team members received their third consecutive such honor this season. They are Steffanie Blackmon of Baylor, Lisa Kreiner, Anne O'Neil, Tracy Paustian and Brittany Wilkins, all of Iowa State, Blair Waltz of Kansas, Brie Madden, Megan Mahoney, and Kendra Wecker of Kansas State, Megan Roney of Missouri, Jina Johansen of Nebraska, Lauren Shoush and Antoinette Wadsworth of Oklahoma, and Mindy Garrison of Texas A&M. Oklahoma's total of eight players on the team lead the league. Five Sooners were named to the first team and three to the second.

Raider Power Top Stories