Red-Black Game Set for April 16

<p> LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech will begin preparations for the 2005 season later this month when it conducts its annual spring drills followed by the traditional Red-Black Game at Jones SBC Stadium.

The Texas Tech coaching staff will host its annual coaching clinic April 1-2 in conjunction with practices on both days.

The Red Raiders are coming off an 8-4 season, which was highlighted by Tech's 45-31 over fourth-ranked California in the Pacific Life Holiday Bowl. Texas Tech opens the 2005 season Sept. 10 against Florida International at Jones SBC Stadium.

Tech returns six starters from an offense that led the NCAA in passing for the third-straight year and total offense for the second-consecutive season. Those returning include RB Taurean Henderson, who rushed for 16 touchdowns, the most for a Tech back since Byron Morris's 22 in 1993; WR Jarrett Hicks, who caught 76 passes for 1,177 yards and a Tech single-season record 13 touchdowns; and offensive linemen Manuel Ramirez and E.J. Whitley.

Defensively, the Red Raiders welcome back nine starters, including CB Khalid Naziruddin, who tied for the team lead with 83 tackles last season. CB Antonio Huffman and FS Vincent Meeks also are returning starters from on of the nation's top secondary units a year ago.

SPRING DATES (Times to be announced; all practices will take place on the practice fields):

Wednesday, March 23; Friday, March 25; Saturday, March 26; Monday, March 28; Wednesday, March 30.

Friday, April 1; Saturday, April 2; Monday, April 4; Wednesday, April 6; Friday, April 8.

Saturday, April 9; Monday, April 11; Wednesday, April 13; Saturday, April 16 - Spring Game; Monday, April 18.


Raider Power Top Stories