Four Red Raiders Garner Awards

With the non-conference and conference portions of the 2004-2005 season completed, four Red Raiders have been selected to conference teams or are named in national awards.<p>The Red Raiders begin conference tournament play as they take on the winner of the Baylor/Iowa State game on Friday, March 11 at Kemper Arena in Kansas City at 2 PM.

Ronald Ross has been named in four awards. Ross, the walk-on senior from Hobbs, New Mexico, was named to the All-Big 12 First Team. Ronald joins three-year first team selection Andre Emmett, Tony Battie, and Cory Carr as Tech players named to the conference first team. The All-Big 12 honors are selected by the league's head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players. Ronald is also a semi-finalist for the Collegiate Basketball Award of Excellence presented by Creamland Dairies. The award honors college seniors for their athletic and academic achievement as well as their community involvement.

Ronald was also named on two of the Big 12 Specialty Teams chosen by a panel of media who regularly cover the league. He was named to the All-Improved squad and to the All-Defense team. As a freshman, Ronald averaged 3.1 points per game and 12 steals for the season. In his sophomore year, he averaged 4.5 points per game in 20 starts, and had 56 steals. Ronald started 31 games as a junior, had 50 steals, 3.4 rebounds per game, and averaged 10.1 points per game. Named team captain in his senior year by Coach Bob Knight, Ronald closed out the regular season with 1,045 career points, averaged 16.6 points per game for the season and 19.1 points per game in conference play. His 66 steals for the 2004-2005 season has eclipsed the single-season mark of 64 thefts established by Andre Emmett in the 2002-2003 season. Ronald has played in 126 games during his career and is closing in on Andre Emmett's record setting mark of 128 career-games.

Jarrius Jackson was named by Big 12 coaches to the All-Big 12 Third Team. The sophomore from Monroe, Louisiana was the only Red Raider to start each non-conference and conference game this season. As a freshman, Jarrius averaged 11.3 points per game and had 90 assists. This season he has averaged 14.6 points per game and has 99 assists as the team prepares for post-season play.

Senior Devonne Giles was chosen by the media panel to the All-Underrated squad. In his two-year career as a Red Raider, Devonne has surpassed Andy Ellis' mark of 100 career-blocks for fifth spot among school leaders. As a junior, Devonne averaged 8.9 points per game and 5.0 rebounds per contest. This season he has increased his output to 11.6 points per game and 6.2 rebounds per game. has tabbed Martin Zeno to their national Freshman All-America Team. Rather than name a first, second, third, and fourth team, and in keeping with their tradition, the Freshman All-American team is "one" team consisting of 21 players. Division 1 head coaches and assistants are involved in the selection process. A complete list of the group can be found at The freshman from Sulphur, Louisiana was also named to the conference All-Freshman squad by the panel of media who regularly cover the conference. Martin started 20-of-27 games this season He was third on the squad in scoring with 13.5 points per game. He also averaged 4.3 rebounds per game and 3.4 assists per game.



Wayne Simien, Kansas, Sr., F, 6-9, 255, Leavenworth, Kan./Leavenworth**


Taj Gray, Oklahoma, Jr., F, 6-9, 235, Wichita, Kan./Redlands (Okla.) CC


Daniel Gibson, Texas, Fr., G, 6-2, 190, Houston, Texas/Jones


Billy Gillispie (Texas State ‘83) - At Texas A&M: First Season, 19-8 (.703); Career: Third Season, 49-40 (.551)


Wayne Simien, Kansas** Sr. F 6-9 255 Leavenworth, Kan./Leavenworth

Taj Gray, Oklahoma Jr. F 6-9 235 Wichita, Kan./Redlands (Okla.) CC

Joey Graham, Oklahoma State** Sr. F 6-7 225 Brandon, Fla./Brandon/UCF

John Lucas, Oklahoma State Sr. G 5-11 165 Houston, Texas/Bellaire

Ronald Ross, Texas Tech Sr. G 6-2 185 Hobbs, N.M./Hobbs


Curtis Stinson, Iowa State So. G 6-3 215 Bronx, N.Y./Bronx Regional/Winchendon Prep

Keith Langford, Kansas Sr. G 6-4 215 Fort Worth, Texas/North Crowley

Jeremiah Massey, Kansas State Sr. F 6-7 230 Detroit, Mich./Oxnard (Calif.) CC

Brad Buckman, Texas Jr. F 6-8 235 Austin, Texas/Westlake

Antoine Wright, Texas A&M Jr. F 6-7 210 San Bernardino, Calif./ Lawrence Acad.


Jared Homan, Iowa State Sr. C 6-10 250 Remsen, Iowa/St. Mary's

Aaron Miles, Kansas Sr. G 6-1 175 Portland, Ore./Jefferson

Kevin Bookout, Oklahoma Jr. F 6-8 259 Stroud, Okla./Stroud

Daniel Gibson, Texas Fr. G 6-2 190 Houston, Texas/Jones

Jarrius Jackson, Texas Tech So. G 6-1 185 Monroe, La./Ouachita

ALL-BIG 12 HONORABLE MENTION (Listed alphabetically by school)

Aaron Bruce, Baylor Fr. G 6-3 190 Horsham, Victoria, Australia/Horsham College

Richard Roby, Colorado Fr. G 6-6 190 San Bernardino, Calif./Lawrence Acad.

Linas Kleiza, Missouri So. F 6-8 245 Kaunas, Lithuania/Montrose Christian

Joe McCray, Nebraska Fr. G 6-5 210 Fort Lauderdale, Fla./Laurinburg Institute (N.C.)

Terrell Everett, Oklahoma Jr. G 6-4 185 Southwest Missouri State-West Plains CC

Ivan McFarlin, Oklahoma State Sr. F 6-8 240 Missouri City, Texas/Willowridge

Joseph Jones, Texas A&M Fr. C 6-9 240 Normangee, Texas/Normangee

Acie Law, Texas A&M So. G 6-3 185 Dallas, Texas/Kimball

The Big 12 Specialty Teams

(chosen by a panel of media who regularly cover the league)

All-Freshman (tie in voting) Aaron Bruce, Baylor JamesOn Curry, Oklahoma State Daniel Gibson, Texas Joseph Jones, Texas A&M Joe McCray, Nebraska Richard Roby, Colorado Martin Zeno, Texas Tech

All-Newcomer Tim Bush, Baylor Terrell Everett, Oklahoma Taj Gray, Oklahoma Andy Osborne, Colorado Fred Peete, Kansas State

All-Improved Brad Buckman, Texas Chris Copeland, Colorado Acie Law IV, Texas A&M Ronald Ross, Texas Tech Antoine Wright, Texas A&M

All-Reserve Tasheed Carr, Iowa State Stephen Graham, Oklahoma State Lance Harris, Kansas State Bobby Leach, Texas A&M Lawrence McKenzie, Oklahoma

All-Underrated Will Blalock, Iowa State Brad Buckman, Texas Devonne Giles, Texas Tech Jared Homan, Iowa State Christian Moody, Kansas

All-Defense Taj Gray, Oklahoma Ivan McFarlin, Oklahoma State Aaron Miles, Kansas Ronald Ross, Texas Tech Curtis Stinson, Iowa State

Raider Power Top Stories