Red Raiders Begin 2008-2009 Season

Red Raider basketball fans have the opportunity to get an early glimpse of their 2008 - 2009 squad on Friday, October 17, at the United Spirit Arena. Coach Pat Knight has invited the community, university faculty, staff, students, and fans to watch the Red Raiders in their opening practice for the season.


The doors at the United Spirit Arena will open at 4:00 PM. The USA staff will have the Westside doors open to everyone wishing to attend Friday's practice. There will be open seating for all attendees. The USA balcony will be closed.

The 2008 - 2009 Red Raider squad will take the court at 5 PM.

The Raiders return nine players from the 2007-2008 group and welcome six new players for the 2008-2009 campaign. Rogdrick Craig, Michael Prince, Esmir Rizvic, Damir Suljagic, and Alan Voskuil return as seniors. Trevor Cook is the only returning junior this season. Sophomores John Roberson, D'walyn Roberts, and Mike Singletary successfully made the transition from high school to college last season.

Newcomers Darko Cohadarevic (CHO-ha-DAR-eh-vitch) and Nick Okorie are Red Raider juniors this season. Wally Dunn enters Texas Tech as a sophomore walk-on. Tyree Graham, Robert Lewandowski, and Corbin Ray are Red Raider freshmen.

The first of the 18 home games for the Red Raiders this season is on Friday, November 14, against Saint Francis (PA) at 8:00 PM at the United Spirit Arena.

Last week, Texas Tech Athletics announced the Athletic Ticket Office is now offering special weekend and weekday ticket packages for the men's and women's 2008-2009 seasons. For those fans excited and anticipating the upcoming seasons who just can't make it to every game, Texas Tech's new ticket packages may be just the right fit.

For $195, Red Raider basketball fans can purchase a 10-game weekday pack which includes a lower level, non-PSL reserved seat to St. Francis (Nov. 14), Sam Houston State (Nov. 17), East Central Oklahoma (Nov. 20, Legends Classic), Southeastern Louisiana (Nov. 25), Wichita State (Dec. 3), Centenary (Dec. 23), TCU (Jan. 6), Colorado (Jan. 20), Oklahoma State (Feb. 4) and defending national champion Kansas (March 4) – OR - an eight-game weekend pack which includes a lower level, non-PSL reserved seat to Eastern Kentucky (Nov. 22, Legends Classic), New Mexico (Dec. 20), Stephen F. Austin (New Year's Day, Thurs., Jan. 1), Texas (Jan. 17), Nebraska (Jan. 31), Baylor (Feb. 7), Texas A&M (Feb. 21) and Oklahoma (Feb. 28).

To become a 2008-2009 season ticket holder or to purchase tickets for Men's Basketball games at the United Spirit Arena, please call (888) GO-BIG-12 or (806) 742-TECH or stop by the Texas Tech Athletic Ticket Office in the north end of Jones AT&T Stadium.

Inside the Red Raiders Top Stories