Nine Commits Named Texas All-State

Twenty-one of Texas's 23 commitments in the Class of 2011 hail from the Lone Star State. Thursday, nine of those players were named either first- or second-team All-State by the Texas Associated Press Sports Editors based on their regular season performance.

Three future Longhorns were named as their Class players of the year, headlined by Cibolo Steele's Malcolm Brown, the Class 5A Offensive Player of the Year. Brownwood's Jaxon Shipley earned the same honor in Class 3A, while Daingerfield product Steve Edmond was the Class 2A Defensive Player of the Year.

Not surprisingly, Brown (at running back), Shipley (wide receiver) and Edmond (linebacker) were also named to their respective first-team All-State squads.

Future Longhorn signal-caller David Ash was named the Class 5A first-team All-State punter. He also made the second team at quarterback. In Class 4A, offensive linemen Josh Cochran and Taylor Doyle were both selected to the first team. In Class 3A, Cedric Reed made the first-team defensive line.

Do-it-all athlete Quandre Diggs was named second-team Class 4A after an outstanding season at defensive back. Linebacker Kendall Thompson was a second-teamer in Class 3A.

Several other Longhorns made honorable mention, including both Sedrick Flowers and Marcus Hutchins, made honorable mention. Flowers and Hutchins earning those honors means that every eligible Longhorn offensive lineman in the class earned some form of All-State honors.

Arizona product Christian Westerman was a first-teamer there, while Garrett Greenlea missed the season with a knee injury.

Horns Digest Top Stories