Tubbs Named To Outland Trophy Watch List

Senior defensive tackle <B>Marcus Tubbs </B>has been named to the 2003 Outland Trophy watch list, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced Tuesday. The award is presented annually to the college football's top interior lineman.

The recognition comes just a few weeks after Tubbs was selected to the 2003 Bronko Nagurski Trophy (nation's top defensive player) watch list. Despite missing three games (five starts) because of injury in 2002, Tubbs posted 43 tackles, 2.5 sacks, seven TFLs and 14 QB pressures. Head coach Mack Brown said that a healthy Tubbs (along with DT Rodrique Wright) were nearly impossible to block during spring drills (which had more to do with their sustained penetration than it did the O-line’s run-blocking capabilities).

Tubbs was Texas' Outstanding Defensive Lineman last season and has been a second-team All-Big 12 (The Dallas Morning News/Houston Chronicle) pick the past two seasons. The 6-foot-4, 305-pounder has 130 tackles, 10 sacks, 29 TFLs, 39 QB pressures, three forced fumbles and a fumble recovery in 33 career games (22 starts).

Other Big 12 athletes named to the Watch List are Rob Droege, OL, Missouri; Tommie Harris, DT, Oklahoma; Richie Incognito, C, Nebraska; Nick Leckey, OL, Kansas State.

Texas has had three Outland Trophy winners. DT Scott Appleton was the first Longhorn to claim the trophy in 1963. Tommy Nobis was the 1965 winner and DT Brad Shearer brought home the honor in 1977. Offensive tackle Leonard Davis (2000) and guard Dan Neil (1996) were both Outland Trophy finalists.

Three finalists will be selected in late November and the winner will be announced Dec. 11. The winner also will receive his trophy during a banquet on Jan. 8 in Omaha, Nebraska. The banquet is sponsored by the Omaha Sports Committee, and will also honor 1987 Outland winner Chad Hennings.

Presented since 1946, the Outland is the third oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award. However, the FWAA only started presenting a trophy to the winner in the last 15 years. Past winners who do not have trophies are receiving them at the presentation banquet each January when the current-day winners receive their trophies.

In an event that Mack Brown arranged, Shearer, Nobis and Appleton's family all received replica trophies at a Longhorn game in 1998.

The award is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn, who established the award in 1946, a year before his death.

Horns Digest Top Stories