Texas Players Adorn All-Big 12 Teams

Texas was well-represented this week when the Big 12 coaches and media released their all-conference teams.

Both sides saw a Longhorn collect a postseason award. The coaches tapped Quandre Diggs as the league's Defensive Freshman of the Year. And the Associated Press picked Malcolm Brown as the Big 12 Offensive Newcomer of the Year. Additionally, coaches gave Kenny Vaccaro votes and Fozzy Whittaker votes as Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year and Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year, respectively.

Whittaker was the only offensive Longhorn to earn first-team honors in either poll. He was named first-team kick returner, per the coaches. Joining him on the coaches' first-team ballot was defensive lineman Alex Okafor, linebacker Emmanuel Acho and Vaccaro at defensive back. The coaches picked defensive linemen Jackson Jeffcoat and Kheeston Randall, linebacker Keenan Robinson and Diggs at defensive back on the second team.

Carrington Byndom, Blake Gideon, Cody Johnson, Jaxon Shipley, David Snow, Justin Tucker and Mason Walters earned honorable mention.

The Associated Press also named Okafor and Acho to the first team, and were joined by Byndom. Snow, Tucker, Jeffcoat and Randall were second-teamers. Whittaker, as an all-purpose player, Robinson, Vaccaro and Diggs were given honorable mention.

Visit LonghornDigest.com Friday for our All-Big 12 team and awards.

Horns Digest Top Stories