Eight Longhorns Make All-Big 12 Teams

Two Longhorns were named first-team All-Big 12 when the league's coaches released their All-Big 12 football honors Wednesday, with six other Longhorns earning mention as well.

Senior defensive end Alex Okafor and senior safety Kenny Vaccaro have earned credit all season for being the heart and soul of the Texas defense, and the Big 12 coaches agreed with them, tapping the duo as first-team All-Big 12 players. Both players were repeat selections as first-teamers, having made the 2011 squad.

Junior guard Trey Hopkins was the lone Longhorn selected to the second team squad.

Five other Longhorns were given honorable mention status, with freshman running back Johnathan Gray receiving votes for Offensive Freshman of the Year. That award went to Oklahoma State quarterback J.W. Walsh with TCU running back B.J. Catalon and Oklahoma wide receiver Sterling Shepard also receiving votes.

Others to receive honorable mention were wide receivers Mike Davis and Jaxon Shipley, returner D.J. Monroe and punter Alex King. Monroe and King are both seniors. Davis is a junior, and Shipley is a sophomore.

Horns Digest Top Stories