Texas Holds Annual Banquet

The Texas players and coaches gathered Friday night for their annual Football Awards banquet, honoring the best and the brightest from the 2012 season.

The Texas coaches selected the winners for four separate awards based on academics, community service, rehabilitation and strength and conditioning. The players selected the winners for eight awards, ranging from most spirited to the most valuable players on offense, defense and special teams.

Every award winner is listed below.


Lan Hewlett Academic Award: Marquise Goodwin

Edith & Darrell K Royal Coca Cola Community Service Award: Ryan Roberson

Frank Medina Rehabilitation Award: James "Trey" Graham

Dr. Nasser Al-Rashid Strength & Conditioning Award: Jordan Hicks, Desmond Jackson, and Mason Walters


DX Bible Most Team Spirited (Offense): Jeremy Hills, Case McCoy, Luke Poehlmann, & Mason Walters

Clyde Littlefield Most Team Spirited (Defense): Desmond Jackson, Alex Okafor, & Kenny Vaccaro

Joseph W. Moore Tenacity Award for Defense: Alex Okafor & Kenny Vaccaro

Frank Denius Most Valuable Special Teams Player: Alex King & D.J. Monroe

D. Harold Byrd Tenacity Award for Offense: Mason Walters

Darrell K Royal Most Valuable Offensive Player: Mike Davis

Mike Campbell Most Valuable Defensive Player: Kenny Vaccaro

George "Hook" McCullough Most Valuable Player: Kenny Vaccaro

Roy Williams – Joe Jamail Leadership Award: Alex Okafor

Team Captains Award: Alex Okafor & Kenny Vaccaro

Horns Digest Top Stories