Jeffcoat a Hendricks Finalist

Texas senior defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat was named a finalist for the Ted Hendricks Award, which is given annually to the top defensive end in college football.

Jeffcoat is one of six finalists, joining Vic Beasley of Clemson, Shilique Calhoun of Michigan State, Brad Daly of Montana State, Michael Sam of Missouri and Marcus Smith of Louisville.

On-field performance, leadership ability and contributions to school and community are some of the criteria used to determine the award winner. The candidates may represent any class (freshman through senior) as well as any recognized four-year NCAA member school (Division I through Division III). The award is named after former Miami All-American and NFL Hall-of-Famer Ted Hendricks.

Jeffcoat is second in the Big 12 in sacks with 10, and is second in the league in tackles for loss per game, making 16 in 11 contests to-date. Jeffcoat has truly come on in conference season, making all 10 of his sacks and 14.5 of his tackles for loss in Big 12 play. He's the only player in the league to earn Defensive Player of the Week honors three times this season.

Jeffcoat has also recovered three fumbles this season and has an interception, a forced fumble and three pass breakups.

In his career, Jeffcoat is averaging 0.64 sacks in 38 games, which ranks No. 5 on the FBS active list. He is tied for third in school history with 57 career tackles for loss and tied for eighth with 24.5 sacks.

Current college coaches, former players and coaches, media members and pro football personnel professionals vote in the selection process. The final vote for 2013 Hendricks Award will be concluded on December 10th, and the winner will be announced December 11th.  This year's winner will be honored in the spring of 2014 at a time and place to be determined.

Previous Award winners include: 2002 — Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), 2003-04 — David Pollack (Georgia), 2005 — Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), 2006 — LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), 2007 — Chris Long (Virginia), 2008 — Brian Orakpo (Texas), 2009 — Jerry Hughes (TCU), 2010 — Da'Quan Bowers (Clemson), 2011 — Whitney Mercilus (Illinois) and 2012 — Jadeveon Clowney (South Carolina).

Horns Digest Top Stories