Jeffcoat Takes Home Coaches Award, Too

Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year Jackson Jeffcoat headlines several Longhorns on the coaches' All-Big 12 teams.

Already chosen as the Big 12's Defensive Player of the Year by the Associated Press, Jeffcoat took home the coaches' honor on Wednesday, sharing the award with TCU cornerback Jason Verrett.

Jeffcoat was one of two Longhorns honored by the Big 12's coaches as first-team All-Big 12 players, along with kicker Anthony Fera. Running back Malcolm Brown, wide receiver Jaxon Shipley, offensive linemen Trey Hopkins and Donald Hawkins, defensive end Cedric Reed and cornerback Carrington Byndom all made the second team.

Texas coach Mack Brown was among those to earn honorable mention for the Big 12's Coach of the Year award. Jackson Jeffcoat was mentioned for the Defensive Lineman of the Year award, while Anthony Fera earned honorable mention for the Big 12's Special Teams Player of the Year award.

Other Longhorns to make honorable mention included fullback Alex De La Torre, wide receiver Mike Davis, tight end Geoff Swaim, offensive linemen Mason Walters and Dominic Espinosa, defensive tackle Chris Whaley, linebacker Steve Edmond, and defensive backs Quandre Diggs and Adrian Phillips.

The coaches named Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty as offensive player of the year and West Virginia running back Charles Sims and Kansas safety Isaiah Johnson as the offensive and defensive newcomers of the year, respectively. Texas Tech quarterback Baker Mayfield was the league's freshman of the year, while Oklahoma linebacker Dominique Alexander earned the Defensive Freshman of the Year award. Kansas State's Ryan Mueller was the Defensive Lineman of the Year, while Baylor guard Cyril Richardson was tapped as the Offensive Lineman of the Year. Kansas State dynamo Tyler Lockett was the Special Teams Player of the Year. Baylor coach Art Briles won the Chuck Neinas Big 12 Coach of the Year award.

Only two players — Texas Tech tight end Jace Amaro and Oklahoma center Gabe Ikard — were unanimous first-team selections.

The All-Big 12 teams are below.



QB — Bryce Petty, Jr., Baylor

RB — Lache Seastrunk, Jr., Baylor

RB — Charles Sims, Sr., West Virginia

FB — Trey Millard, Sr., Oklahoma

WR — Antwan Goodley, Jr., Baylor

WR — Tevin Reese, Sr., Baylor

WR — Tyler Lockett, Jr., Kansas State

TE — Jace Amaro, Jr., Texas Tech

OL — Spencer Drango, So., Baylor

OL — Cyril Richardson, Sr., Baylor

OL — B.J. Finney, Sr., Kansas State

OL — Gabe Ikard, Sr., Oklahoma

OL — Parker Graham, Sr., Oklahoma State

PK — Anthony Fera, Sr., Texas

KR/PR — Tyler Lockett, Jr., Kansas State


DL — Chris McAllister, Sr., Baylor

DL — Ryan Mueller, Jr., Kansas State

DL — Charles Tapper, So., Oklahoma

DL — Calvin Barnett, Sr., Oklahoma State

DL — Jackson Jeffcoat, Sr., Texas

LB — Eddie Lackey, Sr., Baylor

LB — Jeremiah George, Sr., Iowa State

LB — Shaun Lewis, Sr., Oklahoma State

DB — Ahmad Dixon, Sr., Baylor

DB — Ty Zimmerman, Sr., Kansas State

DB — Aaron Colvin, Sr., Oklahoma

DB — Justin Gilbert, Sr., Oklahoma State

DB — Jason Verrett, Sr., TCU

P — Spencer Roth, Jr., Baylor



QB — Clint Chelf, Sr., Oklahoma State.

RB — James Sims, Sr., Kansas; Malcolm Brown, Jr., Texas.

FB — Kye Staley, Sr., Oklahoma State

WR — Jalen Saunders, Sr., Oklahoma; Josh Stewart, Sr., Oklahoma State; Jaxon Shipley, Jr., Texas

TE — E.J. Bibbs, Jr., Iowa State

OL — Cody Whitehair, Jr., Kansas State; Daryl Williams, Jr., Oklahoma; Donald Hawkins, Sr., Texas; Trey Hopkins, Sr., Texas; Le'Raven Clark, So., Texas Tech.

PK — Michael Hunnicutt, Jr., Oklahoma.

KR/PR — Josh Stewart, Jr., Oklahoma State.


DL — Tyler Johnson, Sr., Oklahoma State; Chucky Hunter, Jr., TCU; Cedric Reed, Jr., Texas; Kerry Hyder, Sr., Texas Tech; Will Clarke, Sr., West Virginia.

LB — Ben Heeney, Jr., Kansas; Eric Striker, So., Oklahoma; Caleb Lavey, Sr., Oklahoma State.

DB — Jacques Washington, Sr., Iowa State; Daytawion Lowe, Sr., Oklahoma State; Sam Carter, Jr., TCU; Carrington Byndom, Sr., Texas; Darwin Cook, Sr., West Virginia.

P — Kirby Van Der Kamp, Sr., Iowa State; Nick O'Toole, So., West Virginia.

Horns Digest Top Stories