Jeffcoat Wins Hendricks Award

Texas senior defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat won the 2013 Ted Hendricks Award, given to the top defensive end in college football.

Jeffcoat was already considered the best defensive player in the Big 12, winning both the Associated Press's and the Coaches' Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year Award. But the Hendricks Award puts Jeffcoat's monster season into a national perspective.

Jeffcoat made 18 tackles for loss and 12 sacks this season, with the latter number ranking third in FBS. Jeffcoat's 12 sacks were also the second-most by a Longhorn in the last 29 seasons, only to Alex Okafor's 12.5 sacks last season. And remember that Okafor got to 12.5 with a huge bowl performance. Jeffcoat too, has closed incredibly well, making 21 tackles and five sacks in the last two games of the regular season.

Jeffcoat also had a team-high 18 quarterback hurries and three fumble recoveries, a forced fumble, an interception and three pass breakups.

On-field performance, leadership ability and contributions to school and community are some of the criteria used to determine the award winner. Current college coaches, former players and coaches, media members and pro football personnel professionals voted in the selection process.

According to Texas's release: "In addition to his on-field achievements, Jeffcoat has made a number of contributions off the field. Jeffcoat participates in a "Read Across America" program, reading to students at a dual-language elementary school in both English and Spanish. He's one of a number of Longhorns that have regularly visited patients at Dell Children's Hospital on the Friday's before home games, and he serves as a mentor at Austin elementary and middle schools as part of the Longhorn Leaders Program."

Jeffcoat topped finalists Vic Beasley of Clemson, Shilique Calhoun of Michigan State, Brad Daly of Montana State, Michael Sam of Missouri and Marcus Smith of Louisville.

Former Texas defensive end Brian Orakpo is the only other Longhorn to win the award, while Cory Redding, Tim Crowder and Sergio Kindle were all finalists.

Horns Digest Top Stories