Four Longhorns To Play In Pro Bowl

Five Longhorns were selected to play in Sunday's NFL Pro Bowl, with four of them set to play in the game.

Running back Jamaal Charles, kicker Justin Tucker, defensive lineman Brian Orakpo and linebacker Derrick Johnson will all take part in Sunday's festivities, which featured the first ever Pro Bowl draft, rather than AFC and NFC teams.

The teams were divided up into Team Sanders (for Deion) and Team Rice (for Jerry). A Kansas City Chief, Charles is one of the captains of Team Sanders after rushing 262 times for 1,305 rushing yards and 12 rushing touchdowns while catching 70 passes for another 693 yards and another seven touchdowns. This is his third appearance in the Pro Bowl in four years.

He'll be joined on Team Sanders by Tucker (Baltimore Ravens) and Orakpo (Washington Redskins). Tucker made 35-of-38 field goals this year, including a game-winning 61-yarder to beat the Detroit Lions in Week 15. He was perfect on his 26 extra points this season. Orakpo was originally named as an alternate, but he's taking over for San Francisco's Ahmad Brooks, who withdrew from the game. Orakpo had 60 tackles, including 10 sacks and an interception this year. This is Tucker's first Pro Bowl appearance, Orakpo's third.

Johnson, who is replacing injured San Francisco linebacker NaVorro Bowman, will play on Team Rice. He had 107 tackles, including 4.5 sacks, and two interceptions this year. This is his third-straight Pro Bowl.

Earl Thomas, arguably the NFL's best safety, won't play in the game despite his selection, as the Seattle Seahawks are gearing up to play in Super Bowl XLVIII.

Texas has had at least one player selected to the Pro Bowl for 13 straight years, and at least three Texas Exes have made the game in seven of the last nine years. Last season, Texas had a school-record five players selected.

Horns Digest Top Stories