Longhorns Aplenty on All-Big 12 Teams

Texas coach Rick Barnes is named Big 12 Coach of the Year, and five Longhorn players earn All-Big 12 mention.

All season long, Texas fans have talked about the balance of this year's Longhorn basketball team. And the release of the Phillips 66 All-Big 12 teams, as voted on by the league's coaches, on Sunday only serves to back up that storyline.

All told, five different Longhorns, and Texas coach Rick Barnes, earned some form of mention, headlined by Barnes earning the Big 12's Coach of the Year award for the fourth time in his career (1999, 2003, 2008, 2014). That ties Barnes with Kansas coach Bill Self for the most times winning the award in Big 12 history.

Player honors included a second-team All-Big 12 spot for junior forward Jonathan Holmes, a spot on the All-Newcomer team for freshman guard Isaiah Taylor and All-Defense selections for sophomores Demarcus Holland and Cameron Ridley. Additionally, Ridley, Taylor and sophomore guard Javan Felix made Big 12 Honorable Mention.

The All-Big 12 teams are listed below:


Player of the Year: Melvin Ejim, Iowa State

Defensive Player of the Year: Joel Embiid, Kansas

Newcomer of the Year: DeAndre Kane, Iowa State

Freshman of the Year: Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Sixth-Man Awards: Tyler Neal, Oklahoma; Phil Forte, Oklahoma State

Coach of the Year: Rick Barnes, Texas

All-Big 12 First Team

Ejim, Iowa State; Kane, Iowa State; Wiggins, Kansas; Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State; Juwan Staten, West Virginia.

All-Big 12 Second Team

Embiid, Kansas; Marcus Foster, Kansas State; Buddy Hield, Oklahoma; Markel Brown, Oklahoma State; Jonathan Holmes, Texas.

All-Big 12 Third Team

Cory Jefferson, Baylor; Georges Niang, Iowa State; Perry Ellis, Kansas; Cameron Clark, Oklahoma; Jaye Crockett, Texas Tech.

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention

Isaiah Austin, Baylor; Wayne Selden Jr., Kansas; Naadir Tharpe, Kansas; Thomas Gipson, Kansas State; Will Spradling, Kansas State; Ryan Spangler, Oklahoma; Le'Bryan Nash, Oklahoma State; Kyan Anderson, TCU; Javan Felix, Texas; Cameron Ridley, Texas; Isaiah Taylor, Texas; Eron Harris, West Virginia.

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Austin, Baylor; Embiid, Kansas; Smart, Oklahoma State; Holland, Texas; Ridley, Texas; Staten, West Virginia.

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team

Kane, Iowa State; Embiid, Kansas; Wiggins, Kansas; Foster, Kansas State; Taylor, Texas.

Horns Digest Top Stories