Frank Denius is a lawyer, philanthropist and war hero. Frank was born in Athens, Texas in 1925. At 19 Denius fought at Normandy and in the Battle of the Bulge, and he returned home in 1945 as one of the most decorated soldiers of WWII. Discharged later that year, he enrolled at the University of Texas seeking degrees in business and law. Upon graduation, Frank began work as an attorney. In 1952 he became director of his uncle's Cain Foundation, a civic organization giving scholarships and grants to many universities in the state of Texas and helping fund academic medical research. In repayment for his dedicated service throughout the years, Denius has received several honors from the University of Texas. In 1994, with help from the Cain Foundation, Denius made a generous contribution to the University of Texas in order to build the new outdoor practice facility for the Longhorn football team. In appreciation, the Board of Regents named the facility the Frank Denius Fields.In 2009, UT Athletics officially dedicated the new Frank Denius Memorial Plaza, located in the northwest corner of the stadium grounds, which showcases a tablature displaying the names of all students and faculty who sacrificed their lives during WWI. Denius proudly serves on several committees for the Texas Exes organization and is a member of the Board of Directors for the University of Texas Foundation. He also serves on the Longhorn Advisory Foundation and the University of Texas Development Board.