Texas Longhorns Golf Texas No. 1, Led by Beau Hossler

The Texas men's golf team, winners of the 2012 national title with a freshman named Jordan Spieth, is the No. 1 team in the country, led by dominant junior Beau Hossler.

Hossler on Wednesday was named a semifinalist for the Ben Hogan Award - given to the top golfer in Division I. 


Hossler won his fifth tournament of the season for Texas last weekend in the Augusta (Georgia) Invitational.


The top-ranked Longhorns finished second at 24-under to No. 2 Illinois (27-under) in what could be a preview of match play between the teams at the NCAA Championship next month at the Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore., if the current rankings play out.


The Texas team features Hossler, the No. 1 golfer in the country with a 67.86 stroke average, as well as No. 22-ranked Doug Ghim, a sophomore with a 69.99 stroke average. 


Texas' top five also includes red-hot sophomore Taylor Funk, the son of former PGA Tour star Fred Funk, who shot 4-under over four rounds in Augusta last weekend as well as junior Gavin Hall (72.30 stroke average) and sophomore Scottie Scheffler (71.16 stroke average).


Hossler's 5 wins this season move him into second place on the all-time single-season wins list in Texas Men's Golf history, only trailing Ben Crenshaw's 7 wins in 1972.


Hossler's 6 career wins puts him in a tie for No. 3 all-time at Texas with Bob Estes - only behind Crenshaw (16) and Justin Leonard (9).


The Longhorns will conclude their regular season at The Maxwell at Dornick Hills Golf Club on April 15 and 16.


"We are enjoying this year as a team and aspire for championships," Texas coach John Fields said.


Here's UT's release on Hossler:


Hossler named semifinalist for Ben Hogan Award

The Texas junior is one of 10 semifinalists for the award.


AUSTIN, Texas – Texas junior Beau Hossler has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2016 Ben Hogan Award, the Colonial Country Club, Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced on Wednesday.


Hossler leads NCAA Division I with five medalist honors during the 2015-16 season, leading the Longhorns with a 69.42 stroke average in Texas events. He has shot 19 of the 24 rounds he has played at or under par.


The Ben Hogan Award is issued annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II, or II, NAIA, or NJCAA college golfer, taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is comprised of 25 leaders and experts in professional, amateur and collegiate golf.


On Tuesday, May 3, the committee will pare down the 10 semifinalists to three finalists. The three finalists will attend a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas on Monday, May 23, where the winner will be crowned.


The award was first issued in 1990 and revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season.


2016 Semifinalists

Charlie Danielson (Illinois, Sr.)

Sam Horsfield (Florida, Fr.)

Beau Hossler (Texas, Jr.)

Michael Johnson (Auburn, Sr.)

Lee McCoy (Georgia, Sr.)

Maverick McNealy (Stanford, Jr.)

Matt NeSmith (South Carolina, Sr.)

Jon Rahm (Arizona State, Sr.)

Robby Shelton (Alabama, Jr.)

Aaron Wise (Oregon, So.)


Notes About the Semifinalists


• The Ben Hogan Award semifinalist group includes five seniors, three juniors, one sophomore and one freshman.


• This is the second straight year, but just the second time since 2005, that no teammates are among the semifinalists.


• All 10 semifinalists are inside the top 25 in all four major ranking systems (Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking, World Amateur Golf Ranking, Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings and Golfstat Head-to-Head Rankings).


• Five of the 10 nominees (Beau Hossler, Lee McCoy, Maverick McNealy, Jon Rahm and Robby Shelton) are semifinalists for the second straight year, with Shelton being named for the third consecutive season.


• Sam Horsfield is the first freshmen to be named a semifinalist since Robby Shelton in 2014. Other freshmen semifinal­ists in the past five years include: Brandon Stone (2013), Julien Brun (2012), Cheng-Tsung Pan (2012), Patrick Rodgers (2012), Jordan Spieth (2012) and Justin Thomas (2012).


• Other schools with active semifinalist streaks include: Stanford (7), Georgia (3), Arizona State (2) and Texas (2).


• Four schools with 2015 semifinalists are home to former Ben Hogan


Texas Semifinalists since 2002

Beau Hossler, 2015

Brandon Stone, 2013

Jordan Spieth, 2012

Dylan Frittelli, 2012

Dylan Frittelli, 2010

Matthew Rosenfeld, 2005

Jason Hartwick, 2002

Horns Digest Top Stories