Baseball: Horns To Host Regional

The NCAA announced the 16 Baseball Regional host sites Sunday, and Texas will host for the third straight year and the 20th time since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

As a host, the Horns (50-13) are guaranteed an at-large bid to the Tourney. Texas won the Big 12 regular season title but bowed out of the conference tournament with two wins and two losses as Oklahoma State (37-22) earned the league's automatic berth with a 13-inning win over Missouri on Sunday.

The Big 12's regular season No. 2 team Oklahoma (37-22) will host a Regional in Oklahoma City. WAC champ Rice (43-12) is the only other Texas school to host. The other 13 host schools are Arkansas, Cal State-Fullerton, East Carolina, Florida State, Georgia, Georgia Tech, LSU, Miami, Mississippi, Notre Dame, South Carolina, Stanford and Virginia.

The top eight national seeds (a group Texas is almost certain to be a part of) along with the entire field of 64 will be announced Monday morning at 11 on ESPN2.

Horns Digest Top Stories