Gibson Named Big 12 Preseason Freshman Of Year

Texas freshman point guard and McDonald's All-American Daniel Gibson has been named the Big 12 Conference Preseason Freshman of the Year by league coaches, it was announced Tuesday.

"He's got pretty high expectations of himself," head coach Rick Barnes said. "He's a confident player. He's one of those players who have been on the circuit a long time and has played against the best players in the country. But what I like about him is he wants to get better."

Center Jason Klotz and forward P.J. Tucker were each named honorable mention All-Big 12 selections.

Klotz earned honorable mention All-Big 12 honors last season after averaging 7.0 points and 3.9 rebounds per game. The fifth-year senior started six games at center during post-season play, averaging a team-best 14 ppg while hitting 16-of-27 (59 percent) from the floor during the Big 12 Tourney. Tucker led the Horns in rebounding (6.8 rpg) and ranked second in scoring (10.4 ppg) on the way to honorable mention All-Big 12 accolades. He was also named to the conference's All-Freshman team.

Gibson, along with forwards LaMarcus Aldridge and Mike Williams, is one of three McDonald's All-Americans in Texas' highly touted freshman class. Gibson ended his prep career as the leading scorer in Houston ISD history (3,102 points). The two-time Texas 4A first-team all-state selection averaged 25.5 ppg in leading Houston Jones to its first state championship since 1965.

"Daniel can be one of the best players in the Big 12, if not one of the best players in the nation," Tucker said. "Throughout the years, he will be."

Kansas forward Wayne Simien was voted the Preseason Player of the Year, while Oklahoma forward Taj Gray was named the Preseason Newcomer of the Year.

The Longhorns, who return three starters from last year's Sweet 16 team, open their exhibition season against Lenoir-Rhyne College on Tuesday, Nov. 9, 7 p.m., at the Frank Erwin Center.

2004-05 Preseason Coaches All-Big 12 Team:
Joey Graham, F, Oklahoma State; Keith Langford, G, Kansas; John Lucas, G, Oklahoma State; Wayne Simien, F, Kansas; Curtis Stinson, G, Iowa State.

Honorable Mention: Jason Klotz, TEXAS; P.J.Tucker, TEXAS; J.R. Giddens, Kansas; Aaron Miles, Kansas; Linas Kleiza, Missouri; Jimmy McKinney, Missouri; Kevin Bookout, Oklahoma; Antoine Wright, Texas A&M.

Horns Digest Top Stories