AP Names D.J., Benson, Scott To All-American Team

Senior WLB Derrick Johnson earned first-team All-American honors from the Associated Press for the second consecutive year while RB Cedric Benson and junior OT Jonathan Scott were both recognized as second-team All-Americans, it was announced Monday.

Johnson, Texas' first ever Butkus Award winner, is a unanimous first-team All-American and was a unanimous choice for the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. He also won the Bronko Nagurski Award (nation's top defensive player) and was a finalist for the Bednarik (nation's top defensive player) and Lombardi (nation's top lineman) Awards and the Ronnie Lott Trophy (nation's top defensive player). Johnson led the Longhorns with 128 tackles (72 solo), 19 TFLs, and eight forced fumbles. He also recorded 10 quarterback pressures, eight pass break ups and two sacks in 2004. For his career, Johnson is third on UT's all-time tackles list with 456 and first in tackles for loss with 65.

Benson, the Doak Walker Award winner and Cingular ABC Sports All-America Player of the Year, was named second-team All-America by both the Associated Press and The Sporting News. He earned first-team honors from ESPN and Sports Illustrated. Benson was the fourth-leading rusher in the nation with 1,764 yards and was second with 19 touchdowns. His 5,470 career rushing yards is the sixth highest total in college football history.

Scott, a consensus first-team All-Big 12 selection, has now been tabbed second-team All-America by the Associated Press and Sports Illustrated. The 6-foot-7, 310-pounder has started the last 30 games for UT at left tackle. In 2004, he helped Texas finish the season ranked second in the nation in rushing (302.4 ypg), ninth in total offense (466.3 ypg) and 14th in scoring (35.0 ppg). His blocking helped pave the way for UT to rush for 3,326 rushing yards, the sixth-highest total in school history.

No. 5/6 Longhorns face No. 13 Michigan in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1, 2005. Texas will enter the contest at 10-1 while the Wolverines will travel to Pasadena, Calif. with a 9-2 record.

Note: Texas and Michigan players are linked below.


Quarterback: Matt Leinart, Southern California, junior.
Running backs: Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma, freshman; J.J. Arrington, California, senior.
Wide receivers: Braylon Edwards, Michigan, senior; Taylor Stubblefield, Purdue, senior.
Tight end: Heath Miller, Virginia, junior.
Center: David Baas, Michigan, senior.
Guards-Tackles: Jammal Brown, Oklahoma, senior; Alex Barron, Florida State, senior; Elton Brown, Virginia, senior; Michael Munoz, Tennessee, senior.
Kicker: Mike Nugent, Ohio State, senior.
All-purpose: Reggie Bush, Southern California, sophomore.


Linemen: Erasmus James, Wisconsin, senior; David Pollack, Georgia, senior; Shaun Cody, Southern California; senior; Marcus Spears, LSU, senior.
Linebacker: Derrick Johnson, Texas, senior; Matt Grootegoed, Southern California; senior; A.J. Hawk, Ohio State, senior.
Defensive backs: Carlos Rogers, Auburn, senior; Antrel Rolle, Miami, senior; Marlin Jackson, Michigan, senior; Ernest Shazor, Michigan, senior.
Punter: Brandon Fields, Michigan State, sophomore.


Quarterback: Alex Smith, Utah, junior.
Running backs: Cedric Benson, Texas, senior; Carnell Williams, Auburn, senior.
Wide receivers: Dante Ridgeway, Ball State, junior; Mark Clayton, Oklahoma, senior.
Tight end: Alex Smith, Stanford, senior.
Center: Marvin Philip, California, junior.
Guards-tackles: Chris Kemoeatu, Utah, senior; Marcus McNeil, Auburn; junior; Dan Buenning, Wisconsin, senior; Jonathan Scott, Texas; junior.
K: Tyler Jones, Boise State; senior.
All-purpose: Chad Owens, Hawaii, senior.


Linemen: Jonathan Goddard, Marshall, senior; Dan Cody, Oklahoma, senior; Matt Roth, Iowa, senior; Ryan Riddle, California, senior.
Linebackers: Ahmad Brooks, Virginia, sophomore; Michael Boley, Southern Mississippi, senior; Kevin Burnett, Tennessee, senior.
Defensive backs: Corey Webster, LSU, senior; Thomas Davis, Georgia, junior; Junior Rosegreen, Auburn, senior; Morgan Scalley, Utah, senior.
Punter: Matt Payne, BYU, senior.


Quarterback: Jason White, Oklahoma, senior.
Running backs: Jamario Thomas, North Texas, freshman; DeAngelo Williams, Memphis, junior.
Wide receivers: Mike Haas, Oregon State, junior; Roddy White, UAB, senior.
Tight ends:Trey Haverty, Texas Tech, senior.
Center: Ben Wilkerson, LSU, senior.
Guards-tackles: Rob Petitti, Pittsburgh, senior; Sam Mayes, Oklahoma State, senior; Wesley Britt, Alabama, senior; Travis Leffew, Louisville, junior.
Kicker: Andrew Wellock, Eastern Michigan. sophomore.
All-purpose: Ted Ginn Jr., Ohio State, freshman.


Linemen: Mathias Kiwanuka, Boston College, junior; Mike Patterson, Southern California, senior; Travis Johnson, Florida State, senior; Jonathan Babineaux, Iowa, senior.
Linebackers: Barrett Ruud, Nebraska, senior; Lofa Tatupu, Southern California, junior; Leroy Hill, Clemson, senior.
Defensive backs: Mitch Meeuwsen, Oregon State, senior; Jamaal Brimmer, UNLV; senior; Charles Gordon, Kansas, sophomore; Jason Allen, Tennessee, junior.
Punters: Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor, sophomore.

Horns Digest Top Stories