Four Horns Earn First-Team AP Honors

QB Vince Young, SS Michael Huff, OT Jonathan Scott and DT Rodrique Wright have been named first-team All-Americans by The Associated Press. It marks only the second time in school history, and the first time since 1983, that as many as four Longhorns have earned AP first-team All-America honors.

OG Will Allen, MLB Aaron Harris and junior OT Justin Blalock earned third-team honors.

"It's quite an accomplishment to have four players earn first-team All-American and several others make one of the AP teams," said Texas coach Mack Brown. "It's something that we as a program are very proud of. Jonathan, Michael, Rod and Vince have had great years and all are very deserving as are Aaron, Justin and Will who made the third-team. I'm really pleased that The AP voters recognized their accomplishments."

Young is the first quarterback in program history to earn AP first-team honors. The Heisman Trophy runner-up has already garnered this year's Maxwell Award (nation's best player) as well as the Davey O'Brien Trophy (nation's top quarterback). Though VY was clearly disappointed Saturday by his second place finish in the Heisman, it was the highest ranking by a Longhorn underclassman in UT history. It was the highest a Longhorn QB has ever placed in the Heisman and marked just the third time that a Longhorn junior finished among the Heisman's top five (joining Ricky Williams, 5th, 1997 and Roosevelt Leaks, 3rd, 1973).

"It's an honor to be named first-team All-American, especially with all of the great quarterbacks out there this year," said Young. "But, I definitely can't take all of the credit. My offensive line, the receivers and the running backs all played a big role in any success I've had. And, I can't thank Coach Davis enough for everything he's done in preparing me as a quarterback. They all deserve most of the credit and I thank them for putting me in a position to receive all of the honors that I have."

Young was also honored as a first-team All-American by the Football Writers Association of America and was a unanimous selection for Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year. He guided the Longhorns to their first 12-0 record in school history while his 29-2 mark as a starter is also tops for the program. With 3,619 yards of total offense, Young has become UT's single-season leader in total offense, bettering Major Applewhite's total of 3,211 yards in 1999. He has completed 182-of-285 (63.9%) passes for 2,769 yards (No. 3 all-time on Texas' single-season list), including 26 TDs (tied with Chris Simms for first on the school's single-season list). His passer efficiency rating of 168.6 leads the nation and he has also rushed 136 times for 850 yards and nine TDs.

Huff is Texas' first-ever Thorpe Award winner (honoring the nation's top DB). He is a consensus All-American and a unanimous first-team All-Big 12 selection. Huff is second on the team in tackles with 97, including nine TFL and two sacks. He has 14 PBU, one INT, four forced fumbles, a fumble recovery for TD and a blocked FG. Huff became Texas' leader in TDs scored by a defensive player with five after his fumble return for a TD against Rice earlier this season. His four INT returns for TD is a school record.

Wright was Texas' third Lombardi Award finalist in the past four seasons and is a unanimous first-team All-Big 12 selection. Wright has posted 46 tackles, 14 TFL, 4.5 sacks, three PBD, forced a fumble and returned a fumble recovery for a TD in 2005.

Scott is a consensus All-American and unanimous first-team All-Big 12 selection. The senior has posted 43 consecutive starts on some of the most potent rushing offenses in Longhorn history. In 2005, Texas leads the nation in scoring offense at 50.9 points per game and is third in both total offense (508.4 ypg) and rushing offense (273.8 ypg).

Texas students begin final exams Wednesday. The team will practice sporadically this week (as players are available due to exam schedules) and departs December 28 for the Rose Bowl.

Horns Digest Top Stories