Blalock, Okam Named 'Playboy' All-Americans

Texas senior OT Justin Blalock and junior DT Frank Okam are members of the 50th Annual Playboy Preseason All-America Football team, it was announced Friday.

Justin Blalock and Frank Okam traveled to Phoenix Friday to join the other members of the squad for a weekend of events and the annual photo shoot.

Blalock is a top 2006 Outland Trophy and NFL prospect who has started all 38 games of his career at right tackle. Blalock was named third-team All-America by The Associated Press in 2005, when he was a key part of a line that helped Texas rank first in the nation in scoring offense (50.2 ppg), second in rushing offense (274.9 ypg) and third in total offense (512.1 ypg), while setting school single-season records in both points scored (652) and total yards (6,657).

A Lombardi Trophy candidate, Okam has played in 25 career games (14 starts) and recorded 70 tackles, three sacks, 11 TFL, 20 pressures, seven PBD and forced three fumbles. He started all 13 games in 2005 and earned second-team All-Big 12 honors from the league's coaches. He more than doubled the production from his freshman year with 48 tackles, five TFL, 11 pressures, one sack, two PBD and two fumble recoveries, one of which was recovered in the end zone for a TD. Okam earned first-team Freshman All-America honors from The Sporting News as a true freshman in 2004.

It marks the sixth-straight year Texas has had two players recognized as part of the Playboy Preseason All-American team that was first selected in 1957.

Texas has now had 45 Playboy Preseason All-American (42 players/three head coaches). Blalock is the 13th Longhorn offensive lineman and Okam is the eighth defensive lineman to be named to the squad, and it will be the second-straight year Texas has had an OT/DT tandem, following OT Jonathan Scott and DT Rod Wright in 2005. Those are the two most-represented positions by UT players on the annual preseason team, outnumbering the five running backs the Horns have had selected.

The Longhorns have had at least one player chosen to the team in each of Mack Brown's nine seasons. Among that group, Scott (2005), Wright (2005), RB Cedric Benson (2004), LB Derrick Johnson (2003-04), OG Derrick Dockery (2002), DE Cory Redding (2002), CB Quentin Jammer (2001), OT Mike Williams (2001), OT Leonard Davis (2000) and RB Ricky Williams (1998) have all earned post-season first-team All-America honors.

Horns Digest Top Stories