Texas Named Regional Tournament Host

The Texas Longhorns will host one of 16 NCAA Regional Baseball Tournament locations, it was announced Sunday. The four-team Regional in Austin is slated to begin Friday, June 2 and will conclude Monday.

The other three programs, as well as the Top Eight national seeds for NCAA Tournament, will be announced at 11:30 a.m., Monday, on ESPN. The eight seeded will then host a Super-Regional if the brackets hold true this weekend. The entire field for the 64-team NCAA Tournament will also be announced Monday.

It was almost a foregone conclusion that No. 6 Texas would host a Regional after Texas captured its third regular season Big 12 championship in five years. The Longhorns (40-19) are hosting a Regional Tournament for the fifth consecutive year and for the 35th time in school history. It also signals the 50th season that Texas has advanced to the post-season.

The other 15 regional host schools are Alabama, Arkansas, Cal St. Fullerton, Clemson, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon State, Pepperdine, Rice and Virginia.

Horns Digest Top Stories