Griffin Named to Nagurski 'Watch List'

Texas safety Michael Griffin has been named to the 2006 Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) has announced. The award, which Longhorn LB Derrick Johnson claimed in 2004, honors the best defensive player in college football.

Michael Griffin, who was selected to various All-Big 12 teams last season, was the Longhorns' leading tackler with 124 and tied for the team lead with three interceptions. He finished UT's National Championship season strong by recording 23 tackles at Texas A&M, matching Texas' highest single-game tackle total since 1992, posting five tackles and blocking a punt that was recovered for a TD in the Big 12 Championship game and making a crucial interception in USC's end zone to help Texas defeat the Trojans 41-38.

The senior is expected to start at SS this season while twin brother, Marcus, holds down his former spot at FS.

Griffin has tallied 238 career tackles, 11 TFL, four interceptions and 13 passes broken up, to go along with a Texas record six blocked punts. He is also a two-time member of UT's Athletics Director's Honor Roll.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski winner from the association's 11-man All-America defensive team in late November. Players may be added from the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the course of the 2006 season.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club, which has held the annual awards banquet since 1995.

The 2006 banquet is set for Monday, Dec. 4, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, where five finalists will vie for the prize.

Horns Digest Top Stories