Post-Season Award Nominations Aplenty

Three Longhorn players, OT Justin Blalock, CB Aaron Ross and QB Colt McCoy, have been named semi-finalists for post-season awards.

On Wednesday, Texas quarterback Colt McCoy was announced as a semi-finalist for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

McCoy has completed 170-of-246 passes (69.1%) for 2,051 yards and 27 TDs (second-most on NCAA single-season freshman list/No. 1 on UT's single-season list), while throwing just four interceptions for a 172.2 passer rating (second NCAA).

He joins fellow Longhorns Justin Blalock and Aaron Ross on post-season award lists.

Blalock is one of four college football players to reach finalist status for the Lombardi Award, which goes annually to the nation's top interior player (offensive lineman, defensive lineman or linebacker).

The tradition is deep with Texas and the Lombardi Award, as Blalock becomes the fourth Longhorn finalist in the last five years, joining Rod Wright (2005), Derrick Johnson (2004) and Cory Redding (2002). Texas has had two past winners with Tony Degrate taking the honor in 1984 and Kenneth Sims in 1981.

In a release from UT, Blalock said:

"I'm very honored, first of all. This is really great and very flattering just to be thought of with the likes of the other finalists. For people to even mention an offensive lineman is really saying something about how they feel. I can't accept all of the credit. (Offensive line) coach (Mac) McWhorter has done a great job, and you can't be a good offensive lineman in football without a good offensive line. So we've got four other guys who are deserving, as well. This is a great honor for all of us."

Ross is a semifinalist for the Thorpe Award as the nation's top defensive back. Ross is one of 11 semifinalists for the Thorpe Award, and his 62 tackles, 17 PBU, 22 passes defended and three forced fumbles in 2006 are tops among the group. He has been involved in nine takeaways in the past seven games, and Texas has scored 38 points off of those (five TDs/one FG), including a fumble return for a TD.

Ross said in a release from UT:

"It's an honor, especially for an award that recognizes a guy (Jim Thorpe) that was one of the greatest athletes of all time. The top 11 DB's in the whole country; I mean that's really an honor to be on that list. I can't take all of the credit, a lot of it goes to my fellow DBs and Coach Akina as well as our defensive linemen and linebackers that put all of the pressure on the quarterback. They all make my life easier."

The winners will be announced on ESPN's Home Depot College Football Awards Show scheduled for December 7 at 7 p.m. EST.

Horns Digest Top Stories