Kevin Durant Named Big 12 Player of the Year

The Big 12 post season awards were announced on Sunday and freshman forward Kevin Durant was named both the league's Player and Freshman of the Year. Durant was also named First Team All-Big 12 and freshman point guard D.J. Augustin was named the the conference's Second Team.

Freshman forward Kevin Durant became the first freshman in conference history to be named Player of the Year. He also became the second Longhorn earn the award in the conference's 11-year history, with former Longhorn P.J. Tucker obtaining the honor last season.

A unanimous All-Big 12 First Team choice, Durant also earned a spot on Big 12 All-Defensive Team and the Big 12 All-Rookie team.

Freshman D.J. Augustin earned a spot on the All-Big 12 Second Team and the Big 12 All-Rookie Team, and sophomore A.J. Abrams was named All-Big 12 honorable mention.

2006-07 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Men¹s Basketball Awards
Player of the Year: Kevin Durant (Texas)
Defensive Players of the Year: Mario Chalmers (Kansas), Marcus Dove (Oklahoma State)
Newcomer of the Year: Stefhon Hannah (Missouri)
Freshman of the Year: Kevin Durant (Texas)
Sixth-Man Award: Cartier Martin (Kansas State)
Coach of the Year: Billy Gillispie (Texas A&M)

All-Big 12 First Team
Brandon Rush, Kansas; Julian Wright, Kansas; Mario Boggan, Oklahoma State; Kevin Durant, Texas; Acie Law, Texas A&M; Jarrius Jackson, Texas Tech.

All-Big 12 Second Team
David Hoskins, Kansas State; Cartier Martin, Kansas State; Aleks Maric, Nebraska; D.J. Augustin, Texas; Joseph Jones, Texas A&M.

All-Big 12 Third Team
Mario Chalmers, Kansas; Stefhon Hannah, Missouri; Nate Carter, Oklahoma; JamesOn Curry, Oklahoma State; Martin Zeno, Texas Tech.

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention
Aaron Bruce, Baylor; Curtis Jerrells, Baylor; Richard Roby, Colorado; Mike Taylor, Iowa State; Darrell Arthur, Kansas; Sherron Collins, Kansas; A.J. Abrams, Texas; Josh Carter, Texas A&M; Antanas Kavaliauskas, Texas A&M.

Big 12 All-Defensive Team
Mario Chalmers, Kansas; Russell Robinson, Kansas; Marcus Dove, Oklahoma State; Kevin Durant, Texas; Dominique Kirk, Texas A&M.

Big 12 All-Rookie Team
Wesley Johnson, Iowa State; Darrell Arthur, Kansas; Sherron Collins, Kansas; Stefhon Hannah, Missouri; D.J. Augustin, Texas; Kevin Durant, Texas.

Horns Digest Top Stories