Kevin Durant Sweeping Post-Season Awards

Kevin Durant continued his sweep of post-season awards on Tuesday as the freshman swingman was awarded both the Oscar Robertson and the Adolph Rupp Trophies, each given to the National Player of the Year.

Kevin Durant is the first freshman selected by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association to win the Oscar Robertson Trophy and the first player from a current Big 12 member institution to win the honor since its inception in 1959.

Durant is also the first freshman to claim the Rupp Trophy in the award's 35-year history. The selection was made by a national committee of over 40 present and retired sports writers, coaches, television and radio broadcasters and sports administrators

Each award is given to the National Player of the Year. Durant garnered the same accolade from the National Association of Basketball Coaches last week.

Durant is also a finalist for the John R. Wooden Award, the Associated Press Player of the Year and the Naismith Award.

Durant led the Big 12 Conference in scoring (25.8 ppg), rebounding (11.1 rpg) and blocked shots (67). He is the only player in the country to rank in the Top 10 nationally in both scoring (fourth) and rebounding (fourth). Durant led the Longhorns to a 25-10 record and the Second Round of the NCAA Tournament.

Horns Digest Top Stories