Kevin Durant Awarded AP Player of the Year

University of Texas freshman swingman Kevin Durant has been named The Associated Press Player of the Year, the wire service announced Friday at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. Durant is the first freshman to win the award, which was first presented in 1961. He also is the first UT player to receive the accolade.

Kevin Durant received all but two votes for player of the year from the 72-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25. Wisconsin's Alando Tucker garnered the other two votes.

This marks the fourth National Player of the Year honor for Durant. He previously won the Oscar Robertson Trophy (U.S. Basketball Writers Association), the Adolph Rupp Trophy (Commonwealth Athletic Club of Kentucky) and was named the National Player of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Durant also is one of four finalists for the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, which will be presented Sunday night in Atlanta, and one of five finalists for the John R. Wooden Award, which will be presented on Saturday, April 7 in Los Angeles.

Durant led the Big 12 Conference in scoring (25.8 ppg), rebounding (11.1 rpg), blocked shots (67) and double-doubles (20). He is the only player in the country to rank in the Top 10 nationally in both scoring (fourth) and rebounding (fourth). Durant led the Longhorns to a 25-10 record and the Second Round of the NCAA Tournament.

Horns Digest Top Stories