Texas To Host Regional; Seeding Coming Monday

As expected, Texas is one of the 16 host schools for the NCAA Baseball Tournament which begins Friday. Due to renovation work at Disch-Falk Field, the Horns' four-team regional will be played at the Dell Diamond in Round Rock.

The three teams competing along with Texas in a double-elimination format for the right to advance to the Super Regional round, along with the rest of the 64 team field, will be announced Monday at 11:30 a.m. The Horns will also learn at that time if, also as expected, they are one of the top-eight national seeds, which with a regional championship at the Dell Diamond would put them on a path to Corpus Christi for the Super Regional.

This is the sixth consecutive season Texas has been chosen as a regional host. The Horns advanced to the Super Regional round and on to Omaha for the College World Series in 2002-05, winning national championships in 2002 and 2005. The 2006 team failed to advance out of the Austin regional.

This year's Big 12 regular season runner-up Missouri and fifth-place Texas A&M, which beat Baylor 14-6 in the Big 12 Tournament final, also will host regionals.

Other regional cities include Tempe, Ariz. (Arizona State); Fayetteville, Ark. (Arkansas); Myrtle Beach, S.C. (Coastal Carolina); Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State); Long Beach, Calif. (Long Beach State); Chapel Hill, N.C. (North Carolina); Oxford, Miss. (Mississippi); Houston, Texas (Rice); San Diego, Calif. (San Diego); Columbia, S.C. (South Carolina); Nashville, Tenn. (Vanderbilt); Charlottesville, Va. (Virginia); Wichita, Kan. (Wichita State).

Horns Digest Top Stories