Texas Begins the Dance in Little Rock

On Sunday, the selection committee announced the NCAA Tournament field and the Texas Longhorns will begin their quest for a national championship in Little Rock, Ark. as a two-seed in the Big Dance.

Texas will begin the NCAA Tournament in Little Rock, Arkansas, but if the Horns make it past the first two rounds, they won't have to leave the state of Texas for each following round, all the way to the Final Four. The Longhorns are in the South Region, meaning they'll play the Sweet Sixteen and Elite Eight rounds in Houston, assuming Texas makes it that far.

The first opponent in No. 2 seed Texas' journey is No. 15 seed Austin Peay. The Governors went 24-10 overall on the year and 16-4 in the Ohio Valley Conference, winning both the OVC's regular season and tournament championships. Texas and Austin Peay play on Friday in Little Rock.

If Texas wins, it will take on the winner of No. 7 seed Miami and No. 10 seed Saint Mary's. The Longhorns have a connection to Hurricanes, specifically in their head coach. Coach Frank Haith was an assistant at Texas under Rick Barnes before taking over as the head coach in Miami four seasons ago.

As for Saint Mary's, the Longhorns beat the Gaels this season, 81-62, on January 5th. St. Mary's does sport, however, one of the top guards in the nation in freshman Patrick Mills, who averaged 14.5 points and 3.4 assists on the year.

If Texas wins in the second round, it's down to Houston and, if successful in each of the next two rounds, the Longhorns will be back in the Final Four. This year's Final Four will be just down the road for Texas in San Antonio.

The Horns' invitation marks the 10th straight appearance by Texas in the NCAA Tournament, all 10 of those under Barnes. It's also the 18th in the last 20 seasons, which makes Texas one of only seven schools holding that distinction (Texas, Arizona, Duke, Indiana, Kansas, North Carolina and UCLA).

Texas' Tournament finishes over the past decade

1999 First Round
2000 Second Round
2001 First Round
2002 Sweet 16
2003 Final Four
2004 Sweet 16
2005 First Round
2006 Elite Eight
2007 Second Round
2008 ?

Horns Digest Top Stories