Give Thanks for Longhorn Seniors

The 24 members of the 2008 senior class will step onto the field at Darrell K. Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium for the final time as players tonight. This class is one of the most successful classes in the history of the Longhorn's storied program. Burnt Orange Beat salutes each one and wishes each of them well in their future endeavors.

The 24 senior members of the Texas Longhorn football team have accomplished some amazing feats. Here is a snapshot of the class:

2005 National Championship
43-7 overall record over the last four years
86.0% winning percentage
25-6 mark in regular season Big 12 games
80.6% regular season Big 12 winning percentage
43 wins – fourth most in UT history behind the 2005 senior class with 45, and the 2006 and '07 senior classes who both had 44
21-game winning streak, the second-longest winning streak in school history
21 straight Big 12 wins, matching the longest conference winning streak
21-3 at home in DKR
7 First Team Academic All Conference players in 2008
1 Second Team Academic All Conference players in 2008
Draddy Award semifinalist (winner to be announced December 9)
Second Team 2008 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American
Four straight bowl appearances, including at least one BCS bowl
Lowest final national ranking was No. 13 in 2006

Senior class:

Rashad Bobino
Quan Cosby
Joseph Davis
Cedric Dockery
Martin Egwuagu
Levi Gage
Rene Hinojosa
Chad Kugler
Aaron Lewis
Drew Marcantonio
Henry Melton
Cory Michner
Roy Miller
Chris Ogbonnaya
Brian Orakpo
Daniel Orr
Ryan Palmer
Nic Redwine
Jordan Shipley
Alex Spears
Luke Tiemann
Peter Ullman
George Walker
Chris Wieland

Horns Digest Top Stories