All-Time Texas Defense

The University of Texas has a long, storied history including the second most wins in the history of college football, so making any All-Time list is a tough task. You have to cut some very accomplished players including Hall of Famers, and many All Americans. Take a look at the First and Second Teams on Defense.

The Texas Longhorns rank second in all-time wins (831), is one of only seven programs to have at least 800 all-time victories, rank third in all-time winning percentage (71.8%), and rank second in number of bowl game appearances (48).

Along the way, there have been so many great players that a list of this sort really makes for some extremely difficult decisions. In some cases, major award winners and multiple two-time All-Americans have been left out.

First Team All-Time Texas Defense

Defensive Backs: Johnnie Johnson, Michael Huff, Jerry Gray, and Nathan Vasher

All four defensive backs were two-time All Americans, including multiple consensus and unanimous awards. Michael Huff also won a Thorpe Award, but that award has only been awarded since 1986.

Linebackers: Tommy Nobis, Derrick Johnson, Britt Hager

Tommy Nobis and Derrick Johnson were both two-time All-Americans, including three consensus All-Americans in four years. Britt Hager still holds the top two tackling seasons and career tackle title in Texas history.

Defensive Ends: Tony Brackens and Brian Orakpo

Orakpo won every national defensive award and All-American as a senior and Brackens was All-SWC for all three years he played (he was an early NFL guy).

Defensive Tackles: Kenneth Sims and Casey Hampton

This position is the deepest of any at the University. Hampton and Sims were both two-time All-Americans, including three consensus awards. Hampton also led his team in tackles from the DT position.

Punter: Russell Erxleben

Erxleben was a three-time All-American. No one is even close.

Punt Returner: Eric Metcalf

Metcalf was electricity in a bottle with the ball in his hands in the open field.

Placekicker: Phil Dawson

Phil Dawson still holds the Texas record for most field goals made (59) and is fourth in FG accuracy. He also has the second most field goals of over 50 yards (9).

Second Team All-Time Texas Defense

DB: Mossy Cade, Raymond Clayborn, Stanley Richard, Noble Doss
LB: Jeff Leiding, Glen Halsell, and Scott Henderson
DE: Kiki DeAyala and Tim Campbell
DT: Steve McMichael and Scott Appleton
P: John Teltschik
PR: Nathan Vasher
PK: Jeff Ward

Agree or disagree? Talk about it on the premium message boards!

Horns Digest Top Stories