Wave Announces 2004-05 Women's Basketball Schedule

Tulane will face six teams that reached the NCAA Tournament last season, with five of those games coming in New Orleans. The Wave will face Auburn at Fogelman Arena in early December before facing C-USA foes Houston, TCU, DePaul and Marquette on campus during league action. Tulane's lone road game against an NCAA team comes with a Jan. 2 match-up with Final Four participant LSU.<

NEW ORLEANS, La. – A 15-game home schedule, and 12 contests against teams that reached the 2004 postseason highlight the 2004-05 Tulane women's basketball schedule, announced Monday by Green Wave women's basketball coach Lisa Stockton.

Tulane will face six teams that reached the NCAA Tournament last season, with five of those games coming in New Orleans. The Wave will face Auburn at Fogelman Arena in early December before facing C-USA foes Houston, TCU, DePaul and Marquette on campus during league action. Tulane's lone road game against an NCAA team comes with a Jan. 2 match-up with Final Four participant LSU.

11111 "We are very excited about the upcoming season, especially considering we have some very talented teams coming to New Orleans," Tulane head coach Lisa Stockton said. "This is one of the best home schedules we've had in the last few years and gives our fans a chance to see some great basketball."

Tulane kicks off the 2004-05 schedule on the road, with games against Howard and George Mason near the nation's capital. The Wave open the home portion of the schedule with a Nov. 23 meeting with Jacksonville State at Fogelman Arena.

Following a trip to Texas State for a Thanksgiving tournament involving Texas A&M, host Texas State and Cleveland State, the Green Wave return home for seven straight home games during the month of December. Included in those games is a contest against NCAA foe Auburn as well as the ninth straight Tulane/DoubleTree Classic, which will welcome Stephen F. Austin, Pepperdine and Georgia State to Fogelman.

The Green Wave kick-off the new year with the road game against LSU before returning home to begin Conference USA play. The Wave open league action with back-to-back home games against NCAA foes Houston and TCU and face NCAA participants DePaul and Marquette in late January. Tulane will also welcome conference opponents South Florida, UAB and Southern Miss to Fogelman, while traveling to face Memphis, Saint Louis, Charlotte, East Carolina, Southern Miss, Cincinnati and Louisville.

"We've got a good group of players returning, along with an exciting bunch of freshmen coming in," Stockton added. "We can't wait to get on the floor and start practicing as a team. This should be another fun year for Tulane women's basketball."

Tulane will return three starters as part of a group of nine letterwinners from last season. The Wave will also bring in five freshmen for the 2004-05 season.

2004-05 Tulane Women's Basketball Schedule

Fri., Nov. 19 at Howard Washington, D.C. 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 21 at George Mason Alexandria, Va. 1:00 p.m.
Tues., Nov. 23 JACKSONVILLE ST. FOGELMAN ARENA 7:00 p.m.

Texas State Tournament
Fri., Nov. 26 vs. Texas A&M San Marcos, Texas 5:30 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 27 vs. Texas State/Cleveland State San Marcos, Texas 4:00/6:00 p.m.

Wed., Dec. 1 UL MONROE FOGELMAN ARENA 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Dec. 5 AUBURN FOGELMAN ARENA 2:00 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 7 TEXAS A&M-CORPUS CHRISTI FOGELMAN ARENA 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Dec. 19 NICHOLLS ST. FOGELMAN ARENA 2:00 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 21 PORTLAND FOGELMAN ARENA 6:00 p.m.

Tulane/DoubleTree Classic
Tues., Dec. 28
STEPHEN F. AUSTIN FOGELMAN ARENA 1:00 p.m.
Georgia St. vs. Pepperdine Fogelman Arena 3:30 p.m.
Wed. Dec. 29
Consolation Fogelman Arena 1:00 p.m.
Championship Fogelman Arena 3:00 p.m.

Sun., Jan. 2 at LSU 2:00 p.m.
Fri., Jan. 7 HOUSTON* FOGELMAN ARENA 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 9 TCU* FOGELMAN ARENA 2:00 p.m.
Fri., Jan. 14 at Memphis* 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 16 at Saint Louis* (C-USA TV) TBA
Fri., Jan. 21 DePAUL* FOGELMAN ARENA 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 23 MARQUETTE* FOGELMAN ARENA 2:00 p.m.
Fri., Jan. 28 at Charlotte* 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 30 at East Carolina* 1:00 p.m.
Mon., Feb. 7 at USM* 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Feb. 11 USF.* FOGELMAN ARENA 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 13 UAB* FOGELMAN ARENA 2:00 p.m.
Fri., Feb. 18 at Cincinnati* 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 20 at Louisville* 1:00 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 26 USM FOGELMAN ARENA 7:00 p.m.

Home games in ALL CAPS; All game times central and subject to change

* - Conference USA games


Tulane Insider Top Stories