Women's Softball Wins National Championship

After losing its first game in the Women's College World Series, the Bruins fought back from the loser's bracket to the championship game, where they defeated defending national champion, Cal, 1-0, Monday. It's UCLA's 9th softball NCAA championship...

In very dramatic fashion, the UCLA women's softball team won the school's ninth NCAA softball championship Monday, defeating defending national champion Cal in the championship game, 1-0.

Junior pitcher Keira Goerl threw an extra-inning no-hitter.

The Bruins secured the game-winning run when hot-hitting junior center fielder Stephanie Ramos doubled in the top of the ninth to lead off the inning. Emily Zaplatosch sacrified Ramos to third. Then senior Toria Auelua slapped a pitch in the gap on the left side of the infield that the Cal third baseman couldn't handle, bringing home Ramos for the run.

Goerl then closed out Cal in the bottom-half of the ninth in three straight batters.

It was particulary poignant for the seniors, Auelua, Tairia Mims, Natasha Watley, and Monique Mejia. It would have been the first time in UCLA's history that a class of players had gone through UCLA and not won a national championship in their four years.

Goerl, Mims and Watley were named to the all-tournament team, and Goerl was named Most Outstanding Player. She pitched all 47 innings the Bruins played in the World Series and allowed just four earned runs.

It's UCLA's ninth softball NCAA championship, and 10th overall (having one one before it was NCAA certified), the most of any program in the country.

It's also UCLA's fourth national championship this school year, having also won in men's soccer, women's water polo and women's gymnastics. With those four championships, UCLA extends its lead as the school with the most NCAA and overall national championships in the country. UCLA has 90 NCAA championships and 111 overall, while second-place Stanford has 85 NCAA championships and 95 overall. Stanford has won two national championships this school year.

Bruin Report Online Top Stories