The All-Pac-10 Team

The Pac-10 Publishers of have chosen the All-Pac-10 Team, with one team sweeping both the Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year Awards. UCLA does well, with defensive ends Justin Hickman and Bruce Davis being honored, as well as place kicker Justin Medlock...

The Pac-10 is known for its aerial assaults and with good reason. Any time a player like Steve Smith is 2nd Team All-Conference, its obvious there are some playmakers at the wide receiver position. 

But it was running back Marshawn Lynch of Cal that is the Offensive Player of the Year in the Pac-10. Lynch led the Pac-10 in rushing and all-purpose yards. He rushed for 1,245 yards, barely edging out Yvenson Bernard of Oregon State, but it was his 6.1 yards per carry that really stood out on the leader board.

For good measure, Lynch's teammate Daymeion Hughes made sure that it was a clean sweep of the Player of the Year awards. Hughes was named Defensive Player of the Year in the Pac-10. Hughes led the Pac-10 in interceptions with eight, and he returned two of those for touchdowns. Hughes also managed 67 tackles from his defensive back position.

The Pac-10 Publishers of selected the All Pac-10 Teams:

All Pac-10 Offense - 1st Team

POS Name Team
QB John David Booty USC
RB Marshawn Lynch* Cal
RB Jonathan Stewart Oregon
WR Dwayne Jarrett USC
WR DeSean Jackson Cal
TE Zach Miller Arizona State
OL Ryan Kalil USC
OL Sam Baker USC
OL Mike Gibson Cal
OL Mike Pollak Arizona State
OL Enoka Lucas Oregon
PK Justin Medlock UCLA
Return DeSean Jackson Cal

All Pac-10 Defense - 1st Team

POS Name Team
DL Brandon Mebane Cal
DL Justin Hickman UCLA
DL Mkristo Bruce Washington State
DL Lawrence Jackson USC
LB Rey Maualuga USC
LB Desmond Bishop Cal
LB Michael Okwo Stanford
DB Daymeion Hughes** Cal
DB Antoine Cason Arizona
DB Sabby Piscitelli Oregon State
DB Eric Frampton Washington State
P Nick Folk Arizona

All Pac-10 Offense - 2nd Team

POS Name Team
QB Alex Brink Washington State
RB Ryan Torain Arizona State
RB Yvenson Bernard Oregon State
WR Steve Smith USC
WR Jaison Williams Oregon
TE Fred Davis USC
OL Jeremy Perry Oregon State
OL Alex Mack Cal
OL Alex Fletcher Stanford
OL Shannon Tevaga UCLA
OL Max Unger Oregon
PK Alexis Serna Oregon State
Return Sammie Stroughter Oregon State

All Pac-10 Defense - 2nd Team

POS Name Team
DL Bruce Davis UCLA
DL Louis Holmes Arizona
DL Sedrick Ellis USC
DL Nuu Tafisi Cal
LB Keith Rivers USC
LB Brian Cushing USC
LB Scott White Washington
DB Terrell Thomas USC
DB C.J. Wallace Washington
DB J.D. Nelson Oregon
DB Michael Johnson Arizona
P Sean Douglas Washington

*Offensive Player of the Year
**Defensive Player of the Year

Bruin Report Online Top Stories