UCLA Wins Titles #101 and #102

The UCLA women's tennis team won its first national championship ever, beating Cal in the final, 4-0. That was UCLA's 102nd national championship, following the title won by the women's water polo team a couple of weeks ago...

Bruin senior Riza Zalameda rallied from a set down to defeat rival Susie Babos of Cal, 3-6, 6-3, 6-2 on Tuesday, clinching the first-ever NCAA Championship for the UCLA women's tennis team.

The Bruins posted a 4-0 victory over the No. 8 Golden Bears in the NCAA Final at Tulsa's Michael D. Case Tennis Center.

The Bruins end their season 24-5 overall, while Zalameda was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player.

It was championship #102 for UCLA, extending its record of national championships.

It was the second national championship won by UCLA this season, following the championship won by the women's water polo team May 11th.

It was UCLA's fourth consecutive and sixth overall NCAA women's water polo title when they defeated USC, 6-3, in the championship match at Stanford University's Avery Aquatics Center.

The Bruins finished the season with a perfect 33-0 record.

Bruin seniors Gabrielle Domanic, Brittany Rowe, Courtney Mathewson, Jillian Kraus and Kamaile Crowell finished their careers with four NCAA titles and a pair of undefeated seasons.

The victory was UCLA's 10th national title in women's water polo and UCLA's 101st overall NCAA title.

The women's water polo team holds the honor of winning UCLA's 100th national championship when it won the title last season.

Bruin Report Online Top Stories