Stewart Up for National Gatorade Award

Breanna Stewart, incoming freshman on the Connecticut women's basketball team, is one of six finalists for the 10th annual Gatorade High School Athlete of the year, awarded to the top female athlete among all high school sports.

The other five finalists are Morgan Andrews (soccer), Jordan Burgess (volleyball), Geri Ann Glasco (softball), Molly Seidel (cross country) and Shelbi Vaughan (track and field). The winner will be announced during a dinner prior to the ESPY awards to be emceed by ESPN's Stuart Scott in Hollywood on July 10.

Stewart, a 6-foot-4 forward from Syracuse, N.Y., is the 2001-12 Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year.

Awards will be presented by Robert Griffin III of the Washington Redskins (2006-07 Gatorade Texas Boys Track & Field Athlete of the Year), seven-time NBA All-Star Alonzo Mourning (1987-88 Gatorade National Boys Basketball Player of the Year), four-time gold-medal winner Lisa Leslie (1989-90 Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year), and two-time Women's World Cup Champion Brandi Chastain.

Former UConn stars Tina Charles (2005-06) and Maya Moore (2006-07) have won the prestigious honor.

Fans can watch the awards on ESPN3 beginning at 9:15 p.m. EDT and can watch post-event interviews on USTREAM at approximately 11 p.m. EDT.

Since 1985, Gatorade has recognized state and national Players of the Year in 12 sports (six male, six female). In addition to athletic performance, Gatorade Players of the Year must excel in the classroom and demonstrate strong character. Winners are selected by a national panel of sports writers and commentators.

Stewart already has been named national player of the year by Gatorade, USA Today, Parade Magazine, McDonald's, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association and the Naismith Trophy. She was also named to the 2012 USA Basketball U18 national team.

UCONN Playbook Top Stories