Men Dribbling to Memphis

With the Big East Conference holding on to Madison Square Garden as site of its league championship tournament, the new American Athletic Conference had to find a new home in March. The conference made it official Tuesday that the men's teams are headed to Memphis in 2014.

FedExForum in Memphis, Tenn., considered by many to be one of the nation's premier basketball venues, will be the site of the 2014 American Athletic Conference Men's Basketball Championship, commissioner Mike Aresco announced Tuesday.

Dates of the 2014 championship are March 12-15. Each game of the 10-team tournament will be televised on the ESPN networks. The championship game on Saturday, March 15, will be televised on ESPN. The tournament will begin with two first-round games on Wednesday, March 12. Two quarterfinal doubleheaders will be played on Thursday, March 13, followed by a semifinal doubleheader on Friday, March 14. Game times will be announced at a later date.

"We are very excited to have the first American Athletic Conference championship at FedExForum," Aresco said in a statement. "We received significant interest from many outstanding venues. FedExForum is an outstanding facility and the Forum, the city of Memphis, the University of Memphis and the local community will combine to create a wonderful inaugural event that our teams, coaches, administrators and fans will embrace and enjoy."

Among those other facilities that showed an interest were the XL Center in Hartford and Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville. Mohegan Sun has been chosen to host the American women's tournament, it was announced Monday.

FedExForum has a seating capacity of 18,400. It is located off historic Beale Street and its vibrant and popular entertainment district. It is the home to the University of Memphis men's basketball team and the NBA's Memphis Grizzlies. The building also has hosted regional rounds of the NCAA Men's and Women's Basketball Championships. After the American Athletic Championship, it will host the 2014 NCAA South Regional.

Louisville, the 2013 national champion, is expected to battle for the first American crown. UConn, Memphis Temple and Cincinnati are also expected to be in the hunt.

For 2013-14, the American Athletic Conference will include the University of Central Florida, University of Cincinnati, University of Connecticut, University of Houston, University of Louisville, University of Memphis, Rutgers University, University of South Florida, Southern Methodist University, and Temple University.

UCONN Playbook Top Stories