Class of 2013

The New England Basketball Hall of Fame holds its 2013 induction ceremony this Saturday in Worcester, Mass. Several former and current UConn coaches and players will be enshrined, along with big names such as Tommy Amaker, Dave Bike, Michael Adams, Derek Kellogg, Perry Moss, Andre LaFleur, Rick Mahorn, Ralph Willard, Bruiser Flint, Jim Baron and John Calipari.

Once again, the University of Connecticut men's and women's basketball programs will be well represented when the New England Basketball Hall of Fame holds its 2013 induction ceremony Saturday, June 22 in Worcester, Mass.

Former men's player, assistant coach, and head coach Burr Carlson and former women's player Meghan Pattyson-Culmo will each receive the Ronald S. Perry Award for distinguished achievement in two or more categories.

Associate head coach Chris Dailey, a member of Geno Auriemma's staff since 1985, and former men's star Lenny Carlson, a first team Yankee Conference pick in 1963, will also be inducted. In addition, three former women's players – Debbie Baer-Fiske, Kris Lamb and Laura Lishness – are on the list of honorees.

While I'm not representing UConn, I am honored to be a member of the Class of 2013 along with these former Huskies. I will be receiving the Hall of Fame's media award. I am humbled and proud to be joining the ranks of media members honored, including Bill Lee of The Hartford Courant, my former employer. WTIC's Arnold Dean, Bob Ryan, Leigh Montville, Jackie MacMullen and Billy Reynolds are some of the past media winners.

Among the many former inductees with UConn ties are: Jim Calhoun, Geno Auriemma, Dee Rowe, Ray Allen, Wes Bialosuknia, Sue Bird, George Blaney, Hugh Greer, Toby Kimball, Tom Penders, Rebecca Lobo, Jen Rizzotti and Fred Shabel.

The induction ceremony will be held at the DCU Center in Worcester. Three panel discussions have been scheduled, beginning at 1:30 p.m., including one on great basketball books and one on New England's contribution to the growth of women's basketball. There will be a concert by the Dezron Douglas Quartet and the dinner ceremony begins at 6 p.m.

For more information on the ceremony and tickets, please click here.

UCONN Playbook Top Stories