More National Watch Lists For Three Huskies

Thursday, three University of Connecticut football players were named to watch lists for national awards. Quarterback <B>Dan Orlovsky</B> received his third preseason citation, weakside linebacker <B>Maurice Lloyd</B> his second while middle linebacker <B>Alfred Fincher</B> was named to his first list. In all, five Husky seniors have been cited nine times to national football award preseason watch lists.

Complete Camp List | Complete Butkus List

Signal caller Dan Orlovsky, who previously was named to the Maxwell Football Club's College Player of the Year award and the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award watch lists, today was one of 40 players named to the watch list for the Walter Camp Football Foundation's Player of the Year Award.

And UConn's linebacker duo, the Huskies' statistically top returning defensive players, are two of six Big East players named to the 65-man watch list for the Butkus Award.

Following his junior season, Orlovsky (left) was named the Independent Offensive MVP by and the Connecticut Player of the Year by the New Haven-based Camp Foundation. The Shelton, Conn. native enters his final season of collegiate play poised to break almost every UConn career passing record. Orlovsky is second among all active passers in the nation with 61 career touchdown passes and eighth with 7,352 career passing yards. He's guided UConn to wins in 13 of the team's last 16 contests, including a 51-17 victory at Wake Forest to cap a 9-3 season in 2003.

Last fall, the 6-foot-5 team leader and NFL prospect finished seventh in the nation in passing and in the top 15 of several other major categories, including passing yardage and efficiency. The other Big East player on the Camp list is Syracuse's tailback Walter Reyes. The award went to Pitt's Larry Fitzgerald in 2003.

Maurice Lloyd, who earlier was named to the Bronko Nagurski award watch list, led UConn with 94 solo tacks, 121 total tackles and five fumbles (3 recoverd and two caused). Alfred Fincher (#9) topped the Huskies with 46 tackle assists and was second to Lloyd in total tackles (113) and fumbles (4 - 2 in each category).

Other Big Easters on the Butkus list are Syracuse's Kellen Pruitt and Kelvin Smith, Rian Wallace of Temple and Scott Gyorko of West Virginia.

The other UConn seniors on national award watch lists are center Billy Irwin for the Rimington Trophy, annually presented to the nation's top center, and offensive tackle Ryan Krug for the Outland and Vince Lombardi awards given to the top lineman.


The Walter Camp Foundation's Player of the Year watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in early November. The 2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 117 NCAA Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Feb. 13, 2005, at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Walter Camp - "The Father of American football" - first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp, a former Yale University athlete and football coach, also is credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to 11 men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation, a New Haven, Conn.-based all-volunteer group, was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

Marion Barber III, RB, Minnesota
Cedric Bensen, RB, Texas
Josh Bullocks, LB, Nebraska
Timmy Chang, QB, Hawaii
Patrick Cobbs, RB, North Texas
Dan Cody, DE, Oklahoma
Mark Clayton, WR, Oklahoma
P.J. Daniels, RB, Georgia Tech
Anthony Davis, RB, Wisconsin
Braylon Edwards, WR, Michigan
David Greene, QB, Georgia
Matt Grotegoed, LB, USC
Tramain Hall, RB, North Carolina State
A.J. Hawk, LB, Ohio State
Matt Herian, TE, Nebraska
Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas
Kevin Kolb, QB, Houston
Chris Leak, QB, Florida
Matt Leinart, QB, USC
Jermelle Lewis, RB, Iowa
Geoff McArthur, WR, California
DonTrell Moore, RB, New Mexico
Lance Moore, WR, Toledo
Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut
Kyle Orton, QB, Purdue
David Pollack, DE, Georgia
Walter Reyes, RB, Syracuse
Chris Rix, QB, Florida State
Aaron Rodgers, QB, California
Antrel Rolle, DB, Miami (Fla.)
Brad Smith, QB, Missouri
Darren Sproules, RB, Kansas State
Justin Vincent, RB, LSU
Andrew Walter, QB, Arizona State
Corey Webster, DB, LSU
Jason White, QB, Oklahoma
Charlie Whitehurst, QB, Clemson
DeAngelo Williams, RB, Memphis
Carnell Williams, RB, Auburn
Vincent Young, QB, Texas


The Butkus Award is annually presented to the nation's best collegiate linebacker. The award was established in 1985 by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando in its first year of existence.

The preliminary list of 65 candidates will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists on Thursday, October 14. That list will be cut down to three finalists, which will be announced via a national teleconference with players, coaches, media members and Butkus Award officials on Thursday, November 11. The winner will be announced Friday, December 10, 2004.

The independent selection committee for the 2004 Butkus Award, comprised of 30 of the nation's foremost national media members, is solely responsible for all voting in the selection process.

The award carries the name and support of one of the greatest middle linebackers in football history, Dick Butkus. He was drafted in 1965 by the Bears in the first round of the pro draft after earning All American honors two years at the University of Illinois. Butkus was named to the NFL All Star team seven times and played in eight Pro Bowls before retiring from professional football in 1973. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1979, his first year of eligibility and was selected to represent the NFL in its 75th Anniversary Celebration.

Anderson, Mike 	Idaho
Atkinson, Brian 	Northern Illinois
Avalos, Andy 	Boise State
Blackstock, Darryl 	Virginia
Boley, Michael 	Southern Miss
Brooks, Ahmad 	Virginia
Bunting, Nick 	Tulsa
Burnett, Kevin 	Tennessee
Carpenter, Bobby 	Ohio State
Crowder, Channing 	Florida
Derting, Will 	Washington State
Duren, Paul 	Oklahoma State
Enzor, Jamar 	Cincinnati
Fincher, Alfred 	Connecticut
Glover, Richard 	New Mexico State
Goolsby, Mike 	Notre Dame
Greenway, Chad 	Iowa
Grootegoed, Matt 	USC
Gyorko, Scott 	West Virginia
Havner, Spencer 	UCLA
Hawk, A.J. 	Ohio State
Hill, Leroy 	Clemson
Hodge, Abdul 	Iowa
Hunter, Wendell 	California
Jackson, D'Qwell 	Maryland
Johnson, Derrick 	Texas
Jordan, Anthony 	Toledo
Kinney, James 	Missouri
Koehl, Wade 	Houston
Lloyd, Maurice 	Connecticut
London, Justin 	UCLA
Mahl, Eric 	Kent State
McCoy, Matt 	San Diego State
McCune, Robert 	Louisville
Mitchell, Lance 	Oklahoma
Moore, Chris 	East Carolina
Morrison, Kirk 	San Diego State
Nande, Terna 	Miami (Ohio)
Nicholas, Stephen 	South Florida
Nicholson, A.J. 	Florida State
Osemwegie, Moses 	Vanderbilt
Pollard, Jonathan 	Oregon State
Pruitt, Kellen 	Syracuse
Reid, Lawrence 	Michigan
Rhule, Stanford 	UCF
Rodriguez, Robert 	UTEP
Ruud, Barrett 	Nebraska
Ryans, DeMeco 	Alabama
Seward, Adam 	UNLV
Simon, Kevin 	Tennessee
Sims, Ted 	Kansas State
Sinclair, Matt 	Illinois
Smith, Kelvin 	Syracuse
Stanley, Ron 	Michigan State
Tatupu, Lofa 	USC
Thomas, Pat 	NC State
Thurman, Odell 	Georgia
Toomey, Gabriel 	Kansas
Turner, Lionel 	LSU
Wallace, Rian 	Temple
Warren, Justin 	Texas A&M
Watts, Robert 	Utah State
Williams, Leon 	Miami (Fla.)
Woodfin, Zac 	UAB
Woods, Pierre 	Michigan

UCONN Playbook Top Stories