Ben Gordon Named NBA 6th Man

He would have been a senior with the Huskies this past season. Instead, Ben Gordon, the third pick in the 2004 NBA draft by the Chicago Bulls, was named the NBA's Sixth Man of the Year on Tuesday

Ben Gordon is the first rookie to win this award since it was established following the 1982-83 season. He was the only first-year player to get votes this season.

The Bulls are currently battling the no. 5 seed Washington Wizards in the first round of the NBA playoffs. The #4 Bulls host Washington Wednesday, May 4th, at 7:00 p.m. with the series knotted 2-2. (TV-TNT)

Gordon is the second Husky to receive this NBA award. 1989 grad Cliff Robinson won in 1992-83 when he played with the Portland Trail Blazers. Robinson just completed his 15th season with the New Jersey Nets.

"Ben winning this award actually started a couple of years ago with his incredible work ethic and late night shooting sessions," said UConn head coach Jim Calhoun. "It is not a surprise at all to me, our coaches or Ben's former teammates. He has worked very hard to overcome the bumps and bruises of a tough start to his NBA career, but I am very proud that he played through some early adversity and has shown everyone what we already knew: he is a winner and as tough a competitor as there is."

Gordon played in all 82 regular season games this season for the Bulls, coming off the bench in 79 of them to average 15.1 points on .411 shooting from the field to go along 2.6 rebounds and 2.0 assists per game. He ranked in the NBA top 20 hitting 40.5% from three-point range (18th) and 86.3% from the free throw line (16th).

Gordon also was a big role player for the Bulls in the fourth quarter of games, scoring 10 or more points in the final quarter 21 times, including a 22-point outburst in a 102-99 comeback win at Charlotte (March 30).

"People may be surprised by how he has performed in the clutch," added Calhoun. "But certainly not any of us who saw it for three years here at UConn."

He helped the Bulls return to the NBA Playoffs for the first time since 1998. Gordon's is averaging 15.0 ppg, 2.3 rpg, 2.0 apg, 1.0 spg and 25.8 mpg in the Washington series, off the bench naturally.

The 2004 sixth man, Antawn Jamison, who played with Dallas last season and is now with the Bulls' foe, the Wizards, has started all 72 games in which he has played with Washington.

Gordon accumlated 88 (of a possible 125) first place votes and a total of 513 (of a possible 625). In second place was Detroit's Ricky Davis who was on 17 first place ballots. Davis' total was 257, almost exactly half of Gordon's. And he was the only rookie to get votes. A panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada voted in this poll.

At UConn, Gordon played appeared in all 106 games in his three seasons. He scored 1,795 career points (16.9ppg), with 437 assists (4.1 apg) and 415 rebounds (3.9 rpg). Gordon is sixth among the Huskies' all-time scorers with 1,795 career points rank him sixth all-time at UConn. Gordon holds the UConn career record with 246 three-pointers, while his three-point field goal percentage of 42.3% is No. 2 all-time at UConn, behind only Ray Allen (44.8%).

The NBA Rookie of the Year will be announced Wednesday. Media reports indicate that UConn's Emeka Okafor is the winner with Gordon getting a lot of votes.


Player, Team1st2nd3rdPtsYr
Ben Gordon, Chicago88227513R
Ricky Davis, Boston1749252577
Earl Boykins, Denver1122341557
Jerry Stackhouse, Dallas614239510
Vladimir Radmanovic, Seattle287414
Wally Szczerbiak, Minnesota1211226
Antonio McDyess, Detroit-25119
Antonio Daniels, Seattle- 2 4108
Donyell Marshall, Toronto-14711
Jim Jackson, Phoenix-11413
Kyle Korver, Philadelphia-1-32
Mehmet Okur, Utah-1-33
Tyson Chandler, Chicago--334
Hedo Turkoglu, Orlando--115


1982-83: Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84: Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1984-85: Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1985-86: Bill Walton, Boston Celtics
1986-87: Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88: Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks
1988-89: Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90: Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91: Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1991-92: Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1992-93: * Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94: Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets
1994-95: Anthony Mason, New York Knicks
1995-96: Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls
1996-97: John Starks, New York Knicks
1997-98: Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns
1998-99: Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic
1999-2000: Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns
2000-01: Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02: Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons
2002-03: Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings
2003-04: Antawn Jamison, Dallas Mavericks
2004-05: * Ben Gordon, Chicago Bulls

* UConn alum

UCONN Playbook Top Stories