Multiple Players on Preseason Watch Lists

65 finalists were named to the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award including four Trojans, while three Trojans were named to the Bednarik Award watch list.

The Trojans are well represented on the 2012 Maxwell Award watch list, presented to America's Outstanding Collegiate Player of the Year.

Senior quarterback Matt Barkley, junior receiver Robert Woods, sophomore receiver Marqise Lee, and senior running back Curtis McNeal are all named as players to watch.

Barkley and Woods were semifinalists for the award in 2011, when Stanford's Andrew Luck was named the award winner.

USC is the only school to have four players named to the preseason list.

Arkansas, Clemson, and Oklahoma each have three players named to watch.

The preseason watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to America's Outstanding Collegiate Defensive Player of the Year, has also been released.

Three Men of Troy made the cut, sophomore linebacker Dion Bailey, senior safety T.J. McDonald, and junior cornerback Nickell Robey.

Alabama, LSU, and Michigan State each had four players make the Bednarik Award preseason watch list.

Semifinalists for the awards will be announced on October 29th, three finalists will be named by November 19th, and the winners will be announced on December 6th.

Follow Lindsey Thiry on Twitter Top Stories