USC tailback Charlie White clearly fumbled as he soared toward the goal-line in a 17-10 victory over Michigan in the 1979 Rose Bowl.
But a Big Ten official working the game ruled White had scored a touchdown.
I was so anxious to talk to White that I left the Rose Bowl press box midway in the fourth quarter and made certain I would be first in the door when the USC locker room was opened to the media.
As the Trojans exited the field, I ran right with them and managed to get into the locker room before it was officially opened for reporters.
I found White seated on a chair, just sort of catching his breath before removing his uniform and showering.
``Charlie, did you fumble before you got the ball over the goal-line?'' I asked.
White shook his head, showing no signs of indecision.
``No, you only have to get the ball to the goal-line,'' he said. ``I was flying through the air and looked down. I saw I was over the goal-line, so I just dropped the ball.''
Asked if he intended to stick with that story, White replied: ``Until the day I die.''
A quarter of century later, I asked White the same question I put to him in the Rose Bowl locker room.
White laughed, then said: ``I've seen film since then and it's clear I wasn't over the goal-line when I fumbled.''
Charlie White, one of the walking dead.